Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Model notes · Outdoor Saunas

Backyard Discovery sauna review

Backyard Discovery publishes interior dimensions, cubic feet, wall thickness and bench sizes for every model, which almost nobody in the outdoor category does. Then its marketing claims a warranty with no exclusions, and its own warranty pages list them.

By Sawyer V.Last updated
Backyard Discovery Paxton 2–4 Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, 9 kW

The short version: four outdoor families — Paxton barrels, Lennon cubes, Henley and Bennett cabins — all sharing one heater, the PrairieFire 9 kW wet-or-dry unit with Wi-Fi control, on a hardwired 240 V, 50 A circuit. Indoors there are the Rylan and Knox infrared cabins, where the 1- and 2-person models plug into a standard outlet and the 4-person needs 240 V. Wood is cedar in 30 mm tongue and groove, doors are 8 mm tempered glass, roofs are 29-gauge powder-coated steel. Warranty is five years on both lines. Assembly is pre-cut, pre-drilled and app-guided, and electrical is not part of it.

The outdoor range, as published

Backyard Discovery outdoor saunas, from the brand's product pages
ModelPeopleExteriorInteriorBenches
Paxton barrel2–476" × 65.6" × 80"73.6" × 57.6" × 73.6" — 154 cu ftTwo, 57" × 19"
Paxton barrel4–676" × 83.5" × 80"73.6" × 75.6" × 73.6" — 201.5 cu ftTwo linear, 75" × 19"
Lennon cube2–469.5" × 53.1" × 78.3"66" × 45" × 72.2" — 124 cu ftOne L-shaped, 87" long
Henley cabin4–680" × 90.8" × 81.5" with overhang66" × 63.2" × 73"Two stacked, 65" × 20"
Bennett cabin2–462.3" × 90.8" × 81.5" with overhang50.5" × 63.2" × 73" — 130.5 cu ftTwo stacked, 50" × 20"

From backyarddiscovery.com product pages, read on 2026-09-23. All four outdoor families use the PrairieFire 9 kW heater rated at 462 ACF with a maximum 25 lb of stone and a stated range of 0–194 °F, on 240 V / 50 A / 9,600 W hardwired. Costco publishes 9,000 W for the Bennett it sells.

Publishing an interior volume in cubic feet is the useful part, because it lets you check the heater against the room rather than against a person count. The Paxton 2–4 is 154 cubic feet and the heater is rated at 462 ACF — comfortably oversized, which in a barrel that sits outdoors in winter is the right direction to err. The Lennon at 124 cubic feet gets the same heater, so it will come up fast. Our sauna heater sizing guide explains the rating, and best barrel saunas and best cube saunas cover the format choice.

One caution on the stone capacity: a maximum of 25 pounds is a small thermal reservoir for a 9 kW heater. It will heat the room, and the löyly will be sharper and shorter-lived than a heater carrying 100 pounds or more. That is a trade of warm-up speed against steam quality, and it is worth knowing before you compare this against a Harvia-equipped barrel — see Harvia heaters compared.

The indoor infrared line

Rylan and Knox indoor infrared cabins
ModelExteriorInteriorHeatingCircuit
Rylan 2-person47.75" × 41.5" × 77"44.9" × 38.7" × 69.8" — 70.2 cu ft8 carbon far-infrared panels, 1,760 W120 V, 15 A, standard 5-15P plug
Knox 2-person47.75" × 41.5" × 77"70.2 cu ft8 carbon panels, 31 sq ft of panel, 1,760 W120 V, 15 A, no electrician
Rylan 4-person74.8" × 41.5" × 77"72" × 38.7" × 69.8" — 112.6 cu ft10 carbon-fiber panels, 37 sq ft, 3,400 W240 V, 14 A, NEMA 6-20P, electrician required

From backyarddiscovery.com product pages, read on 2026-09-23. The Rylan line publishes a 75–150 °F range, a low-EMF figure of under 3, red light at 660 and 850 nm, chromotherapy and Bluetooth speakers; the 4-person claims about 15 minutes to 130 °F and is ETL certified for residential indoor use.

A published warm-up claim — about 15 minutes to 130 °F — is unusual and welcome, and an EMF figure of under 3 mG is a number rather than an adjective, even without a measurement distance. Note the split in the range: two people on a wall plug, four people on a 240 V circuit with an electrician. Our best 2-person infrared saunas and what is low EMF pages cover how that compares.

Warranty, and the claim that does not match

  • Outdoor: five years, covering structure and wood, the PrairieFire heater, electronics and smart control panel, and the included accessories. Non-transferable, original purchaser only, US and Canada.
  • Indoor: five years, covering the cedar structure, all infrared panels, red light, chromotherapy, speakers, electronics, glass door and control panels, across the whole Rylan collection.
  • Exclusions, published on both warranty pages: normal wood weathering and color change, damage from improper electrical installation, cosmetic wear and scratches, misuse or failure to follow the assembly instructions — plus, indoors, damage from outdoor use or from extension cords, power strips and adapters.
  • Claims: phone or email, seven days a week, with approved parts stated to ship within 48 business hours at no charge for part or shipping.
  • The mismatch: the brand's sauna landing page markets a five-year comprehensive warranty with no exclusions and states that every component is covered. Its own two warranty pages each list four to six exclusions. Read the warranty pages, not the landing page.

Assembly and delivery

Components arrive pre-cut and pre-drilled with free 3D app-guided instructions in English and Spanish, and the brand quotes two to four hours with two people and basic tools for the outdoor kits, under two hours for the indoor panels, which arrive pre-stained and pre-wired. Shipping is quoted as one to three days with free driveway delivery. What is not in that window is the electrical work: a 240 V, 50 A hardwired circuit for any outdoor model is an electrician's job and a separate quote. Our outdoor sauna electrical guide and outdoor sauna foundation guide cover the two site jobs that have to happen before the kit lands.

Where to buy it

Direct, at Costco and on Amazon — which is unusual in this category and genuinely useful, because the three channels have different return terms. Costco carries one model, the Bennett cabin, online only with threshold delivery inside the front door or garage, which is a better delivery tier than any other sauna it lists. Amazon carries the Paxton and Lennon families. Our Costco sauna buying guide compares the channels on delivery, warranty and returns.

What is not published

  • A consistent heater wattage — 9,600 W on the brand's Bennett page, 9,000 W on Costco's listing for the same model.
  • Insulation detail beyond 30 mm tongue and groove walls.
  • Warm-up time for the outdoor models.
  • A measurement distance for the indoor line's under-3 EMF figure.
  • Which warranty applies to the Henley and Bennett cabins — the outdoor warranty page names the Paxton and Lennon families.

Who this is for

This is the outdoor sauna for someone who wants a specification sheet, a five-year warranty and an assembly process designed for two people and an app — and who has, or can get, a 50 A circuit to the back of the yard. It is a poor fit if you want löyly from a heavy stone load, or if the sauna has to plug in. Indoors, the Rylan 2-person is one of the few cabins of that size that runs on a wall outlet with a published warm-up claim behind it.

The Paxton on Amazon, and barrels to compare

Top pick · A 9 kW barrel with a 5-year warranty

Backyard Discovery Paxton 2–4 Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, 9 kW

Backyard Discovery

$3,499.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

One of the few outdoor barrels whose maker publishes interior dimensions, wall thickness and a rated room volume — and backs it for five years.

Published specifications
HeaterPrairieFire 9 kW wet or dry, Wi-Fi control
Rated volume462 ACF, per the maker
Electrical240 V / 50 A / 9,600 W, hardwired
Exterior76" W × 65.6" D × 80" H
Interior73.6" × 57.6" × 73.6" — 154 cu ft
Wood and wallsCedar tongue and groove, 30 mm thick
BenchesTwo, each 57" L × 19" D
Warranty5 years, per the maker

What works

  • Publishes interior size, wall thickness and rated volume
  • Five-year warranty covering structure, heater and electronics
  • Stones, control panel, glass door, lighting and accessories included

What doesn't

  • 240 V at 50 A means an electrician and probably a panel check
  • The maker's own warranty pages list exclusions its marketing says do not exist
  • Costco lists the sibling model at 9,000 W against the maker's 9,600 W

Skip it ifyou have no route to a 50 A circuit. A 9 kW heater is not a plug-in appliance.

Specs above are the manufacturer's published figures — source.

#2 · Largest barrel capacity

ALEKO Liatris Barrel Sauna, 5–6 Person, 6 kW Harvia

ALEKO

Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

The UL certification on the heater is the detail worth paying for — it is what your insurer and your electrical inspector will ask about.

Published specifications
Capacity5–6 person
WoodRustic cedar
Heater6 kW Harvia, UL certified
PorchFront porch canopy
TypeDry and wet steam
Circuit240 V

What works

  • UL certification stated explicitly, which most listings avoid mentioning
  • A front canopy keeps rain off the door — a real longevity feature
  • Six-person capacity is unusual in a barrel

What doesn't

  • 6 kW is undersized for a genuine six-person volume — expect long warm-ups when full
  • Rustic cedar grading means more knots than clear cedar
  • A very large footprint for a suburban yard

Skip it ifyou regularly fill it. At 6 kW into a six-person barrel a full house is a 60-minute-plus warm-up; the four-person model with the same heater gets hot far faster.

#3 · The overall barrel pick

4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW Harvia

Generic Amazon listing

$3,999.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Cedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five.

Published specifications
Capacity4 person
Height78"
WoodCanadian cedar
Heater6 kW Harvia
TypeTraditional, vertical barrel
Circuit240 V — required for a 6 kW heater
Roof coveringNot published in the listing

What works

  • A Harvia heater means a published spec sheet and a real parts channel
  • Cedar is the correct wood for a structure that lives outside year round
  • 6 kW is properly sized for a four-person barrel volume

What doesn't

  • A 240 V run to the yard is a real, permitted expense
  • Roof covering is not specified, and barrels leak at the top first
  • Freight delivery with a curbside drop — you move it yourself

Skip it ifyour yard has no realistic path for a 240 V run. Trenching a circuit to the back of a garden regularly costs more than the sauna, and it is not a corner worth cutting.

#4 · The overall 2-person outdoor pick

AURGOD 2-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Spruce, 4.5 kW

AURGOD

$2,890.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

A traditional two-person barrel with a 4.5 kW heater properly matched to its size — which means a smaller circuit than the 6 kW units, and real traditional heat.

Published specifications
Capacity2 person
Heater4.5 kW ETL-listed Toule electric
WoodCanadian spruce
Dimensions71" W × 47" D × 71" H
Weight680 lb
TypeTraditional barrel

What works

  • A heater sized to a two-person room
  • ETL listing on the heater
  • Real traditional heat with stones

What doesn't

  • Still needs a 240 V circuit
  • Spruce is less rot-resistant than cedar outdoors
  • Roof covering not specified in the feature text

Skip it ifyou cannot run 240 V to the garden. Consider an outdoor infrared cabin or wood heat instead.

#5 · Cube shape with no electrical run

Smartmak Outdoor Square Sauna, 6–8 Person, Wood-Burning

Smartmak

$8,321.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

A cube shape and a wood stove together mean no trench, no permit and no electrician — the install cost that sinks most outdoor sauna projects simply is not there.

Published specifications
Capacity6–8 person
ShapeSquare / cube
WoodHemlock
HeaterWood-burning stove
RoofWaterproof asphalt shingles
Power requiredNone for the stove
AccessoriesIncluded

What works

  • Wood fired means zero electrical infrastructure
  • An asphalt shingle roof is actually specified, which barrels rarely are
  • Cube geometry uses interior volume better than a barrel at the same footprint

What doesn't

  • Hemlock outdoors is a worse choice than cedar over a decade
  • Wood firing means a 45-minute lead time and ash management every session
  • A chimney through a roof needs correct clearances

Skip it ifyou want heat on a schedule. Wood-fired saunas reward planning and punish spontaneity.

Questions people actually ask

What heater do Backyard Discovery saunas use?
All four outdoor families use the same PrairieFire 9 kW wet-or-dry electric heater with Wi-Fi control, rated at 462 ACF with a maximum 25 lb of stone and a published range of 0 to 194 °F. It needs a hardwired 240 V, 50 A circuit.
Can a Backyard Discovery sauna plug into a normal outlet?
The indoor Rylan and Knox 1- and 2-person infrared cabins do — 120 V, 15 A, standard three-prong plug. Every outdoor model needs 240 V at 50 A, hardwired by an electrician, and the Rylan 4-person needs 240 V at 14 A.
How long does assembly take?
The brand quotes two to four hours with two people and basic tools for the outdoor kits, using free 3D app instructions, and under two hours for the indoor infrared cabins, which arrive pre-stained and pre-wired. Electrical work is separate.
What does the Backyard Discovery warranty cover?
Five years on both lines, covering structure, heater or panels, electronics, controls and included accessories, non-transferable and for the original purchaser in the US and Canada. Note that the warranty pages list exclusions — weathering, improper electrical installation, cosmetic wear, misuse — even though the sauna landing page markets the warranty as having none.
Where can you buy Backyard Discovery saunas?
Direct from the brand, on Amazon (the Paxton and Lennon families), and at Costco, which lists one model — the Bennett 2–4 person cabin, online only, with threshold delivery.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.