Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Guide · Infrared Saunas

Low-EMF sauna comparison: the cross-brand table

We collected every published EMF figure we could find across the infrared sauna market and put them in one table. The interesting column is not the number — it is whether a distance was stated.

By Sawyer V.Last updated Published
Detail of an infrared sauna cabin wall panel

The finding, up front: across the infrared sauna listings we surveyed, one published a numeric EMF figure and none published the distance at which it was measured. Because magnetic field strength falls off sharply with distance, a figure without a distance cannot be compared to any other figure. That is the state of the category, and it means EMF is currently not a specification you can shop on.

We built this page because no competitor publishes it. We checked ten publishers ranking for the main terms in this category during research and not one had a cross-brand EMF table. It turns out there is a reason — the data mostly does not exist — but the absence is itself worth publishing, because the marketing does not tell you that.

The table

Published EMF figures across surveyed infrared saunas and blankets
ProductEMF claim as publishedNumeric figureMeasurement distanceComparable?
Dynamic LuganoLow EMF, under 8 mGUnder 8 mGNot statedNo
Heat Wave SonomaDescribed as low EMFNoneNot statedNo
RESTISLAND 3-personDescribed as low EMFNoneNot statedNo
Smartmak 3-personNot publishedNoneNot statedNo
Duthss full spectrumNot publishedNoneNot statedNo
Blue Wave MonticelloNot publishedNoneNot statedNo
HigherDOSE blanketLow EMF and low ELFNoneNot statedNo
Supersred panelDescribed as lower EMFNoneNot statedNo

Compiled 2026-09-07 from the manufacturers' and sellers' own published listings. 'Not published' means we could find no EMF statement of any kind. One product in eight publishes a number. None publish a distance.

Why the distance is the whole question

Magnetic field strength from a source falls off steeply as you move away from it. In practical terms, a reading taken with a meter touching a heater panel and a reading taken where a person's back actually sits — typically several inches away — can differ by a large factor.

So "under 8 mG" answers a question only if you know which of those two measurements it is. At the panel surface it would be an unremarkable figure. At the bench it would be a meaningfully low one. The number alone does not tell you which claim is being made, and no manufacturer we surveyed resolves it.

The units, briefly

  • Gauss (G) and milligauss (mG) measure magnetic flux density. 1 mG = 0.001 G. Sauna listings that quote a number almost always use mG.
  • Tesla (T) and microtesla (µT) are the SI equivalents. 1 µT = 10 mG, so a figure of 8 mG is 0.8 µT.
  • EMF in marketing usually means the magnetic component specifically, though the abbreviation properly covers electric and magnetic fields together.
  • ELF — extremely low frequency — refers to the frequency band, which for mains-powered heating elements is the relevant one. A product naming ELF separately is being more specific than one that says 'EMF'.

We go into what these units mean and what regulatory guidance exists in what low EMF actually means.

How to shop when the spec does not exist

  1. 1Do not pay a large premium for an unqualified 'low EMF' claim. It is not a specification and every brand makes it.
  2. 2Credit a brand that publishes a number — it means someone measured something. Then ask them the distance.
  3. 3Ask directly, and ask in writing. 'What is the magnetic field reading in mG, measured at the bench seating position?' is an answerable question. How a company handles it is informative regardless of the number.
  4. 4Weight the specs that do exist. Wattage, circuit requirement, spectrum and interior dimensions are published by some manufacturers and are directly useful. Shop on those.
  5. 5Consider distance yourself. Field strength falls off with distance whatever the cabin. Sitting away from the panels rather than against them is within your control, and it is a bigger lever than the difference between brands.

Is EMF from an infrared sauna a health risk?

We are not going to answer that, because it is a medical and regulatory question and we hold no credentials to answer it. What we can do is point you at the bodies whose job it is: the World Health Organization maintains a program on electromagnetic fields, and the ICNIRP publishes exposure guidelines used internationally. Both are linked below.

What we will say is narrower and it is about shopping rather than health: if you are being asked to pay a premium for a low-EMF claim, that claim should come with a number and a distance. Currently, essentially none of them do.

Questions people actually ask

Which infrared sauna has the lowest EMF?
The question cannot be answered from published data. Of the products we surveyed, exactly one published a numeric figure and none published the distance at which it was measured — and without a distance, EMF figures are not comparable between brands. Any site ranking saunas by EMF is ranking on numbers that do not mean the same thing.
What is a good EMF level for an infrared sauna?
There is no industry standard for sauna EMF and we are not going to invent a threshold. Exposure guidance is published by ICNIRP and the WHO maintains a program on electromagnetic fields; those are the appropriate sources. What matters for shopping is that a figure without a stated measurement distance cannot be assessed against any threshold at all.
Is low EMF worth paying more for?
Not for an unqualified claim, because every brand makes one and none substantiate it with a comparable figure. If a manufacturer will give you a number and the distance it was measured at, that is worth something — it means they measured. Otherwise, spend the premium on specs that are actually published, like wattage and interior dimensions.
Did you measure these saunas yourselves?
No. We do not own these cabins, we do not own an EMF meter, and inventing readings would be exactly the fabrication this site exists to avoid. Every figure in the table is the manufacturer's or seller's own published claim, with the date we checked it.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.