The best outdoor saunas
The shell is the easy decision. Heater sizing, wood species and the circuit you have to get to the back of the garden are the three that decide whether you still use it in year three.

An outdoor sauna is two purchases pretending to be one. There is the structure, which is what you shop for, and there is the electrical run to the back of the garden, which is what actually determines the budget. On a suburban lot a trenched 240 V circuit regularly costs as much as the sauna and occasionally more.
That is why one of the picks below is wood-fired. It is not a compromise pick — it removes the second purchase entirely, and for a lot of people that is the difference between a sauna in the yard and a sauna in a browser tab.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Key spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW HarviaCedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five. | The overall barrel pick | 6 kW Harvia in Canadian cedar | |
| 2 | ALEKO Liatris Barrel Sauna, 3–4 Person, 4.5 kW Harvia4.5 kW into a three-to-four person barrel is the sweet spot almost nobody points at: properly sized for the volume, on the smallest circuit that will do the job. | A smaller electrical run | 4.5 kW — a smaller 240 V circuit | |
| 3 | Smartmak Outdoor Square Sauna, 6–8 Person, Wood-BurningA cube shape and a wood stove together mean no trench, no permit and no electrician — the install cost that sinks most outdoor sauna projects simply is not there. | Cube shape with no electrical run | Wood-burning stove, 6–8 person | |
| 4 | AYCHLG Western Red Cedar Outdoor Barrel Sauna, 6 kWWestern red cedar specifically, not 'cedar' as a marketing word. The species matters for how a barrel handles a wet-dry-freeze cycle. | Western red cedar specifically | Western red cedar, 6 kW wet or dry | |
| 5 | Modern Outdoor Cabin Sauna Kit, Glass Front, Cedar InteriorThe one on this list that will not make your garden look like a barrel yard. A full-glass front costs you heat retention and buys you a view. | Looking like a garden building | Glass front, weather-resistant black exterior | |
| 6 | ALEKO Liatris Barrel Sauna, 5–6 Person, 6 kW HarviaThe UL certification on the heater is the detail worth paying for — it is what your insurer and your electrical inspector will ask about. | Largest barrel capacity | UL-certified 6 kW Harvia, 5–6 person |
#ad Amazon links are affiliate links. Tap any row to jump to that product's full write-up. Prices are not shown because we do not run a live price feed — check the current price on Amazon.
How we picked
Heater sizing against room volume first, because an undersized heater is the expensive mistake and the fix is a new heater and possibly a new circuit. Named heater brand second — a Harvia has a published spec sheet, a rated room volume and a parts channel; an unbranded element has none of those. Wood species third, because outdoors it decides the ten-year condition. What the listing actually publishes fourth, especially the roof, which is where barrels fail first.
We did not rank on person count. It is a marketing figure, not a specification, and a '2–6 person' range tells you nothing you can act on.
The picks in full
4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW Harvia
Generic Amazon listing
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Cedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five.
| Capacity | 4 person |
|---|---|
| Height | 78" |
| Wood | Canadian cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia |
| Type | Traditional, vertical barrel |
| Circuit | 240 V — required for a 6 kW heater |
| Roof covering | Not published in the listing |
What works
- A Harvia heater means a published spec sheet and a real parts channel
- Cedar is the correct wood for a structure that lives outside year round
- 6 kW is properly sized for a four-person barrel volume
What doesn't
- A 240 V run to the yard is a real, permitted expense
- Roof covering is not specified, and barrels leak at the top first
- Freight delivery with a curbside drop — you move it yourself
Skip it ifyour yard has no realistic path for a 240 V run. Trenching a circuit to the back of a garden regularly costs more than the sauna, and it is not a corner worth cutting.
ALEKO Liatris Barrel Sauna, 3–4 Person, 4.5 kW Harvia
ALEKO
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
4.5 kW into a three-to-four person barrel is the sweet spot almost nobody points at: properly sized for the volume, on the smallest circuit that will do the job.
| Capacity | 3–4 person |
|---|---|
| Wood | Rustic cedar |
| Heater | 4.5 kW Harvia, UL certified |
| Porch | Front porch canopy |
| Type | Dry and wet |
| Circuit | 240 V, typically 30 A for a 4.5 kW heater |
What works
- Heater is matched to the cabin volume rather than over-specified
- A smaller circuit than a 6 kW unit, which lowers the install bill
- UL-certified heater, same as its larger sibling
What doesn't
- 'Three to four person' means three adults, realistically
- Rustic grading, so expect knots
- Still needs 240 V — this is not a plug-in product
Skip it ifyou want a genuinely hot barrel in a cold climate. In sub-freezing ambient temperatures 4.5 kW struggles, and you should step up to 6 kW or more.
Smartmak Outdoor Square Sauna, 6–8 Person, Wood-Burning
Smartmak
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A cube shape and a wood stove together mean no trench, no permit and no electrician — the install cost that sinks most outdoor sauna projects simply is not there.
| Capacity | 6–8 person |
|---|---|
| Shape | Square / cube |
| Wood | Hemlock |
| Heater | Wood-burning stove |
| Roof | Waterproof asphalt shingles |
| Power required | None for the stove |
| Accessories | Included |
What works
- Wood fired means zero electrical infrastructure
- An asphalt shingle roof is actually specified, which barrels rarely are
- Cube geometry uses interior volume better than a barrel at the same footprint
What doesn't
- Hemlock outdoors is a worse choice than cedar over a decade
- Wood firing means a 45-minute lead time and ash management every session
- A chimney through a roof needs correct clearances
Skip it ifyou want heat on a schedule. Wood-fired saunas reward planning and punish spontaneity.
AYCHLG Western Red Cedar Outdoor Barrel Sauna, 6 kW
AYCHLG
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Western red cedar specifically, not 'cedar' as a marketing word. The species matters for how a barrel handles a wet-dry-freeze cycle.
| Capacity | 2–6 person (as listed) |
|---|---|
| Wood | Canadian western red cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW, wet or dry |
| Type | Traditional barrel |
| Circuit | 240 V |
| Roof covering | Not published |
| Heater brand | Not published |
What works
- Names the actual species rather than the generic word 'cedar'
- A wet-or-dry heater covers both use patterns
- Wide stated capacity range
What doesn't
- A '2–6 person' range is marketing, not a spec
- Roof covering unpublished — the first thing to fail on a barrel
- No stated heater brand
Skip it ifyou want a named heater brand. An unbranded 6 kW element works until it does not, and then you are hunting for a replacement that fits the same opening.
Modern Outdoor Cabin Sauna Kit, Glass Front, Cedar Interior
Generic Amazon listing
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
The one on this list that will not make your garden look like a barrel yard. A full-glass front costs you heat retention and buys you a view.
| Shape | Cube / cabin |
|---|---|
| Front | Glass panel |
| Interior | Cedar |
| Exterior | Weather-resistant black finish |
| Heater | Not published in the listing |
| Capacity | Not published |
What works
- Cedar interior with a treated exterior — the correct way round
- Cube geometry gives usable headroom at the walls
- Reads as architecture rather than as equipment
What doesn't
- A large glass panel is the biggest single heat loss on the structure
- Heater not specified — assume you are buying one separately
- Capacity unpublished, so bench planning is guesswork
Skip it ifyou live somewhere genuinely cold. Full-glass fronts bleed heat, and in a hard winter you will feel every square foot of it.
ALEKO Liatris Barrel Sauna, 5–6 Person, 6 kW Harvia
ALEKO
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
The UL certification on the heater is the detail worth paying for — it is what your insurer and your electrical inspector will ask about.
| Capacity | 5–6 person |
|---|---|
| Wood | Rustic cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia, UL certified |
| Porch | Front porch canopy |
| Type | Dry and wet steam |
| Circuit | 240 V |
What works
- UL certification stated explicitly, which most listings avoid mentioning
- A front canopy keeps rain off the door — a real longevity feature
- Six-person capacity is unusual in a barrel
What doesn't
- 6 kW is undersized for a genuine six-person volume — expect long warm-ups when full
- Rustic cedar grading means more knots than clear cedar
- A very large footprint for a suburban yard
Skip it ifyou regularly fill it. At 6 kW into a six-person barrel a full house is a 60-minute-plus warm-up; the four-person model with the same heater gets hot far faster.
The heater sizing table
| Heater | Rated room volume | Typical circuit | Suits |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4.5 kW Harvia | Smaller rooms — check the manufacturer's figure | 240 V, commonly 30 A | 3–4 person barrels, mild climates |
| 6 kW Harvia | 177–283 cu ft (Harvia's published range) | 240 V, commonly 40 A | 4-person barrels, most climates |
| Wood-fired, 9–15 kW equivalent | Rated by electric equivalence | None | Any size, off grid, cold climates |
The 177–283 cu ft figure is Harvia's own published rating for its 6 kW Topclass and KIP heaters, and it assumes an insulated room. An uninsulated barrel in a cold climate needs more heater than the rating suggests — see best saunas for cold climates.
The one we would skip
The ALEKO Liatris 5–6 person with the 6 kW heater. The cabin is fine and the UL-certified Harvia is a genuine plus. The problem is the pairing: 6 kW into a six-person barrel volume is undersized, and a full house means a 60-minute-plus warm-up every time.
Its 3–4 person sibling uses the same UL-certified Harvia at 4.5 kW into a much smaller volume, which is correctly matched — and needs a smaller circuit, which lowers the install bill. If you want the big barrel, you want it with a bigger heater than this configuration offers.
Wood species, and when it matters
Outdoors, cedar earns its premium. It resists rot and insects and handles the wet-dry-freeze cycle that destroys a structure living outside through a real winter. Hemlock is cheaper, fine indoors, and a worse bet over a decade in a yard.
Watch the wording. Several listings say "cedar" without naming the species, and "rustic cedar" is a grade full of knots rather than a species claim. Where a listing names western red cedar specifically, someone in that supply chain is paying attention. The properties that actually differ are set out in cedar vs hemlock vs spruce.
The roof is the spec nobody publishes
Before you order
- 1Price the electrical run first. Get a quote before you choose the sauna, not after. It may change which category you buy from.
- 2Sort the foundation. A level, drained base that will not heave is required, and it is your cost — see the foundation guide.
- 3Understand the delivery. Almost everything here ships freight with a curbside drop. Several hundred pounds of cedar gets from the street to the yard under your own power.
- 4Check local rules. Some jurisdictions treat a permanent outbuilding as requiring a permit, and an electrical circuit almost always does.
- 5Plan the winter now. Winter maintenance is short but it is not optional.
Questions people actually ask
What is the best outdoor sauna?
How much does it cost to install an outdoor sauna?
Do outdoor saunas need a foundation?
Can you use an outdoor sauna in winter?
How long does an outdoor sauna last?
Sources
- Harvia — heater specifications and rated room volumes — checked Sep 7, 2026
- Amazon.com — outdoor and barrel sauna listings, specifications as published by the sellers — checked Sep 7, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.