The best handheld red light devices
A handheld treats a spot, not a body. The ones worth buying tell you exactly which wavelengths they use, and ideally how many LEDs of each — and none of them tells you the output at a stated distance.

A handheld red light device is a small torch or wand you hold over one area at a time: a forearm, a calf, a jaw. It is the smallest and simplest way into red light, and the least ambitious. It will never do what a full-body panel or a mat does. We chose four that state their wavelengths in nanometers, and set aside the ones that did not.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Key spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | RICIAL Handheld Red Light Device, 38 LEDs, 660 nm and 808 nmThe most LEDs of the handhelds here, with the count per wavelength stated, a stand for hands-free use and a two-year warranty. | The overall handheld pick | 32 × 660 nm + 6 × 808 nm LEDs, 4 intensities, 10/20/30-minute timer | |
| 2 | ANHOM Handheld Red Light Wand with Stand, 660 nm and 808 nmTwo stated wavelengths, with a stand and protective goggles included — a complete kit for someone starting out. | Goggles and a stand in the box | 660 nm and 808 nm, 4 levels, 5–30-minute timer, continuous or pulsed | |
| 3 | Lifepro LumiCure Red Light Torch, 630, 660 and 850 nmA compact torch with three stated wavelengths and a zippered case — the one to keep in a gym bag. | Three wavelengths, pocket-sized | 630, 660 and 850 nm LEDs, torch format, wrist strap and zippered case | |
| 4 | DUGSDG Red and Near-Infrared Light Torch, 5 LEDs, Four WavelengthsFour wavelengths from five LEDs, with a detachable tip for small areas and protective glasses in the box — the most targeted of the group. | Pinpoint areas | Two 660 nm LEDs plus 810, 850 and 940 nm, detachable precision tip |
#ad Amazon links are affiliate links. Tap any row to jump to that product's full write-up. Prices are Amazon's own, as of Sep 27, 2026; confirm the current price on Amazon.
What to check on a handheld
- Wavelengths, in nanometers. All four picks name theirs: 660 nm red in every case, with near infrared at 808, 810, 850 or 940 nm. A listing that says only "red and infrared" has told you nothing — see red light wavelengths explained.
- LED count per wavelength. RICIAL states 32 red and 6 near-infrared LEDs; DUGSDG states five LEDs across four wavelengths. The other two do not publish a count.
- Output at a stated distance. None of the four publishes irradiance, the figure that would tell you the dose. Irradiance explained covers why that matters and what to ask.
- A timer. RICIAL offers 10, 20 or 30 minutes, ANHOM 5 to 30 and DUGSDG a 5-minute automatic timer; the Lifepro listing describes none.
- Eye protection. ANHOM includes goggles and DUGSDG protective glasses, and the DUGSDG listing tells you to wear them during each session.
The four side by side
| RICIAL | ANHOM | Lifepro LumiCure | DUGSDG | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wavelengths | 660 + 808 nm | 660 + 808 nm | 630 + 660 + 850 nm | 660 + 810 + 850 + 940 nm |
| LEDs | 38 (32 red, 6 near infrared) | Not published | Not published | 5 |
| Modes | Continuous, 10 Hz, 40 Hz | Continuous, pulsed | Not described | Continuous, 10 Hz |
| Timer | 10 / 20 / 30 min | 5–30 min | Not described | 5 min |
| Hands-free | Stand included | Stand included | No — wrist strap and case | No — detachable tip |
| Eye protection included | Not listed | Goggles | Not listed | Glasses |
| Warranty or support, as listed | 2 years | 24 months | Lifetime customer support | Not stated |
| Irradiance | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
From each Amazon listing, read on 2026-09-11.
Handheld, wrap, mat or panel
A handheld suits one small area you can reach and hold still for a few minutes. If the area is a knee or a lower back you want to treat while doing something else, a wrap holds itself in place. If it is most of your back, a mat or a panel covers it in one session. Panel vs wrap sets out the trade-off.
How we picked
- 1Wavelengths stated in nanometers, for every wavelength the device claims.
- 2A handheld format — a torch or wand, not a wrap, mask or panel.
- 3Session controls described — a timer, modes or intensity levels — or the gap noted.
- 4A live buy box when we checked, on 2026-09-11.
The picks in full
RICIAL Handheld Red Light Device, 38 LEDs, 660 nm and 808 nm
RICIAL
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
The most LEDs of the handhelds here, with the count per wavelength stated, a stand for hands-free use and a two-year warranty.
| LEDs | 38 — 32 at 660 nm, 6 at 808 nm |
|---|---|
| Intensity | 4 levels |
| Modes | Continuous, 10 Hz and 40 Hz pulse |
| Timer | 10, 20 or 30 minutes, with auto shut-off |
| Battery | 2,600 mAh, cordless |
| Included | Stand for hands-free use |
| Warranty, per the listing | 2 years |
| Irradiance | Not published at a stated distance |
What works
- LED count stated per wavelength
- Stand included
- Two-year warranty
What doesn't
- No irradiance figure
- New on Amazon, with little history
- A small treatment area, like every handheld
Skip it ifyou want to cover a large area — a panel or a mat does that.
ANHOM Handheld Red Light Wand with Stand, 660 nm and 808 nm
ANHOM
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Two stated wavelengths, with a stand and protective goggles included — a complete kit for someone starting out.
| Wavelengths | 660 nm red, 808 nm near infrared |
|---|---|
| Intensity | 4 levels |
| Modes | Continuous and pulsed |
| Timer | 5–30 minutes |
| Included | Stand, protective goggles, USB-C cable |
| Support, per the listing | 24 months |
| LED count | Not published |
| Irradiance | Not published at a stated distance |
What works
- Goggles included
- Adjustable timer
- Stand for hands-free use
What doesn't
- LED count not published
- No irradiance figure
- Pulse frequency not stated
Skip it ifyou want the LED count and an output figure on paper.
Lifepro LumiCure Red Light Torch, 630, 660 and 850 nm
Lifepro
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A compact torch with three stated wavelengths and a zippered case — the one to keep in a gym bag.
| Wavelengths | 630 nm, 660 nm, 850 nm |
|---|---|
| Format | Torch, with wrist strap and zippered case |
| Battery life | 6 hours, per the listing |
| Use | Body and face |
| Support, per the listing | Lifetime customer support |
| LED count | Not published |
| Irradiance | Not published at a stated distance |
What works
- Three wavelengths
- Carry case and strap
- Battery life stated
What doesn't
- No timer described
- No LED count or irradiance
- Lifetime support is not a warranty term
Skip it ifyou want a stand or a timer.
DUGSDG Red and Near-Infrared Light Torch, 5 LEDs, Four Wavelengths
DUGSDG
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Four wavelengths from five LEDs, with a detachable tip for small areas and protective glasses in the box — the most targeted of the group.
| LEDs | 5 — two at 660 nm, one each at 810, 850 and 940 nm |
|---|---|
| Tip | Detachable precision tip |
| Modes | Continuous and 10 Hz pulse |
| Timer | 5 minutes, automatic |
| Charging | USB-C, rechargeable |
| Eye protection | Protective glasses included; the listing recommends wearing them |
| Irradiance | Not published at a stated distance |
What works
- Four wavelengths
- Precision tip for small areas
- Protective glasses included
What doesn't
- Only five LEDs
- The listing describes no timer setting beyond 5 minutes
- No irradiance figure
Skip it ifyou want to treat a whole limb at once.
Where premium sits
Sun Home does not sell a handheld. Its red light line is a full-body panel, a desktop panel and a face mask, and its warranty page gives its red light devices a complete one-year warranty. If a handheld leaves you wanting more coverage, a panel is the step up; our panel roundup compares the category.
The one we would skip
A dual-sided red and blue handheld that lists "4 wavelength combinations" without saying which wavelengths. It turned up in our search with a 24-LED count and no nanometer figure anywhere in the listing. Without the wavelengths there is nothing to compare, which is the whole problem.
Questions people actually ask
Do handheld red light devices work?
What wavelength should a handheld red light device use?
Is a handheld or a panel better?
Do you need eye protection for red light?
Sources
- Amazon.com — handheld red light device listings, specifications as published by the sellers — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — full-body red light panel product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — warranty information, red light devices — checked Sep 11, 2026
Read next
- Best red light therapy panelsMore coverage.Read it
- Best red light therapy matsLie down instead.Read it
- Best red light therapy wrapsHands-free on a joint.Read it
- Red light wavelengths explainedWhat the numbers mean.Read it
- Irradiance explainedThe figure none of these publish.Read it
- Best red light therapy bulbsThe cheaper targeted option.Read it
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.