Plunge sauna review
The cold plunge maker now sells saunas: a cedar traditional sauna in two sizes with HUUM heaters, a two-seat Sauna Mini, and two hemlock infrared cabins. The specifications are detailed; the warranty for the traditional line is a badge rather than a breakdown.

The short version: Plunge sells The Sauna in two sizes — a standard for four to five people and an XL for six to seven — in weatherproof cedar with HUUM Drop heaters, plugging into 240 V outlets of 30 and 50 A. The Sauna Mini seats two on a dedicated 240 V, 20 A circuit and reaches 210 °F. The Infrared Sauna is an indoor hemlock cabin on a dedicated 120 V, 20 A circuit, to 160 °F; the Infrared Sauna Pro reaches 175 °F on 240 V and can add a red light panel. The infrared cabins carry five years on cabinetry and heaters; the traditional saunas' pages show a two-year warranty.
The range, as Plunge publishes it
| The Sauna | The Sauna XL | Sauna Mini | Infrared Sauna | Infrared Sauna Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Traditional, cedar | Traditional, cedar | Traditional, cedar | Infrared, Canadian hemlock | Infrared, Canadian hemlock |
| Seats | 3 top bench, 2 bottom | 4 top bench, 3 bottom | Two | One size, not stated | 2-person or 3-person |
| Heater | HUUM Drop 6 (6 kW) | HUUM Drop 9 (8.5 kW) | HUUM Steel Mini 4 | Far-infrared panels + full-spectrum towers | Far-infrared panels + full-spectrum towers |
| Top temperature | 230 °F | 230 °F | 210 °F | 160 °F | 175 °F |
| Electrical | 240 V, 30 A, NEMA L14-30 outlet | 240 V, 50 A, NEMA 14-50 outlet | Dedicated 240 V, 20 A circuit | Dedicated 120 V, 20 A, NEMA 5-20 | Dedicated 240 V, 20 A, NEMA 6-20 |
| Outside (H × W × D) | 7 ft 11 in × 5 ft 8 in × 5 ft 11 in | 7 ft 11 in × 7 ft 8 in × 5 ft 11 in | 7 ft 10 in × 4 ft 4 in × 4 ft 9 in | 79 × 53⅛ × 55 1/16 in | 2-person as the Standard; 3-person 84⅜ × 69⅛ × 61 7/16 in |
| Where | Outdoor | Outdoor | Indoor or outdoor | Indoor only | Indoor only |
| Warranty | 2-year badge | 2-year badge | 2-year badge | 5 years cabinetry and heaters; 2 years electronics and controls; 1 year glass and power supplies | 5 years cabinetry and heaters; 2 years electronics and controls; 1 year glass and power supplies |
From Plunge's product pages, read on 2026-09-11. Plunge's infrared pages give two sets of exterior dimensions; those shown are the ones labeled "Exterior Dimensions". Seating for the traditional saunas is as Plunge lists it by bench.
The traditional sauna
The Sauna is Plunge's outdoor cedar cabin, built in California, with a HUUM Drop heater on Wi-Fi so it can be started and scheduled from the Plunge app. Plunge says it reaches 230 °F and arrives with its electrical box pre-wired, so it plugs into a 240 V outlet rather than being hardwired — an L14-30 for the standard size, a 14-50 for the XL. Both sizes are 7 ft 11 in tall and 5 ft 11 in deep; the XL is two feet wider, with a seven-person bench layout. The foundation must carry 1,400 lb: a level concrete pad at least 4 inches thick, or a reinforced deck of treated lumber. Our foundation guide covers both, and the best indoor traditional saunas the indoor alternative.
The Sauna Mini
The Mini is the two-seat version: 7 ft 10 in tall on a 4 ft 4 in × 4 ft 9 in footprint, with a HUUM Steel Mini 4 heater, up to 210 °F, on a dedicated 240 V, 20 A circuit. Plunge says it suits indoor or outdoor use, assembles from six prewired panels in about two hours, and has adjustable airflow and a full-width glass door. The same 1,400-lb foundation rule applies.
The infrared cabins
Both infrared models are indoor-only Canadian hemlock cabins that pair far-infrared panels with full-spectrum incandescent towers, with no toxic glues and what Plunge calls a near-zero EMF rating — without a figure on the pages we read. The standard Infrared Sauna runs on a dedicated 120 V, 20 A circuit (NEMA 5-20) to 160 °F and assembles in about an hour; the Pro runs on 240 V, 20 A (NEMA 6-20) to 175 °F, in two- and three-person sizes. Both need 26.5 inches in front for the door to open fully. Plunge points outdoor buyers to its traditional sauna instead — our outdoor infrared saunas roundup covers cabins built for that, and infrared vs traditional the choice between Plunge's two lines.
The red light panel
The Pro can add a red light panel built into the door, with seven wavelengths — 480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850 and 1,060 nm — that lifts out for use elsewhere on a door hook or an optional floor stand. Plunge says it is engineered for high heat. It does not publish an irradiance at a stated distance on the pages we read; irradiance explained says why that matters.
The warranty
- Infrared saunas: five years on cabinetry and infrared heaters, two years on electronics and controls, one year on glass and power supplies, with two more years available to buy through Extend.
- The Sauna and the Sauna Mini: the product pages show a two-year warranty badge. The component terms were not set out on the pages we read, and Plunge's warranty page did not render its text for us. Ask for the written terms.
What is not published
- The written warranty terms for the traditional saunas.
- An EMF figure behind the infrared cabins' near-zero rating.
- Red light output for the seven-wavelength panel.
- A single set of exterior dimensions for the infrared cabins — the pages give two.
Who it suits
- Plunge cold plunge owners who want a matched sauna and one app — Plunge sells bundles of both.
- Traditional-sauna buyers with a 240 V outlet who want high heat without hardwiring.
- Indoor infrared buyers on a 120 V circuit, with the standard Infrared Sauna.
Alternatives you can buy today
Plunge sells its saunas from its own site. The picks below cover the same ground on Amazon: a four-person Canadian cedar barrel with a 6 kW Harvia heater and a western red cedar barrel with a 6 kW heater for wet or dry sessions, both outdoor traditional saunas like The Sauna; a two-person indoor red cedar sauna with a 6 kW Harvia, nearer the Sauna Mini's size; and a three-person full-spectrum cabin on 220 V with red light tubes, closer to the Infrared Sauna Pro. None is a Plunge product.
Traditional and infrared saunas on Amazon
4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW Harvia
Generic Amazon listing
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Cedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five.
| Capacity | 4 person |
|---|---|
| Height | 78" |
| Wood | Canadian cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia |
| Type | Traditional, vertical barrel |
| Circuit | 240 V — required for a 6 kW heater |
| Roof covering | Not published in the listing |
What works
- A Harvia heater means a published spec sheet and a real parts channel
- Cedar is the correct wood for a structure that lives outside year round
- 6 kW is properly sized for a four-person barrel volume
What doesn't
- A 240 V run to the yard is a real, permitted expense
- Roof covering is not specified, and barrels leak at the top first
- Freight delivery with a curbside drop — you move it yourself
Skip it ifyour yard has no realistic path for a 240 V run. Trenching a circuit to the back of a garden regularly costs more than the sauna, and it is not a corner worth cutting.
AYCHLG Western Red Cedar Outdoor Barrel Sauna, 6 kW
AYCHLG
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Western red cedar specifically, not 'cedar' as a marketing word. The species matters for how a barrel handles a wet-dry-freeze cycle.
| Capacity | 2–6 person (as listed) |
|---|---|
| Wood | Canadian western red cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW, wet or dry |
| Type | Traditional barrel |
| Circuit | 240 V |
| Roof covering | Not published |
| Heater brand | Not published |
What works
- Names the actual species rather than the generic word 'cedar'
- A wet-or-dry heater covers both use patterns
- Wide stated capacity range
What doesn't
- A '2–6 person' range is marketing, not a spec
- Roof covering unpublished — the first thing to fail on a barrel
- No stated heater brand
Skip it ifyou want a named heater brand. An unbranded 6 kW element works until it does not, and then you are hunting for a replacement that fits the same opening.
Canadian Red Cedar 2-Person Traditional Sauna, 6 kW Harvia
MCP Distributions
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A real Harvia heater inside a cedar room, sold as one box. If you have been running an infrared cabin and want actual loyly, this is the shortest path to it.
| Capacity | 2 person |
|---|---|
| Type | Traditional, wet or dry |
| Wood | Canadian red cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia |
| Circuit | 240 V — required for a 6 kW heater |
| Extras | Built-in sound system |
| Stones | Included |
What works
- Harvia is a heater brand with a published spec sheet and a real parts supply
- Cedar rather than hemlock — better rot resistance where humidity is high
- Wet or dry, so you can actually throw water
What doesn't
- 6 kW needs a dedicated 240 V circuit and a permit in most places
- Cedar costs more and the price reflects it
- A two-person footprint with a stove in it is tight
Skip it ifyou cannot run 240 V. Every traditional heater above roughly 4.5 kW needs it, and there is no workaround worth attempting.
Duthss 3-Person Full-Spectrum Infrared Sauna
Duthss
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Full spectrum at this size means a 220 V circuit, and the listing says so instead of burying it. That single line is worth more than the whole feature list.
| Capacity | 3 person |
|---|---|
| Power draw | 3,600 W |
| Voltage | 220 V |
| Interior | 60" W × 41" D × 75" H |
| Heaters | 4 carbon panels plus 4 red-light tubes |
| Wood | Hemlock |
| Extras | Foot heating, insulated glass |
What works
- Publishes interior dimensions, not just the outside box
- Foot heating addresses the most common complaint about infrared cabins
- The 220 V requirement is stated openly rather than discovered on delivery day
What doesn't
- 220 V means an electrician, a permit in most jurisdictions and a real install cost
- No EMF figure published
- 3,600 W is expensive to run — check the arithmetic before you commit
Skip it ifyou are not prepared to add a 220 V circuit. Budget the electrical work before the cabin, because on this unit the wiring is not optional.
Our honest position
Plunge publishes detailed, practical specifications — heater model, outlet type, foundation load, door clearance — and is candid that its infrared line is indoor-only. The gaps are the traditional line's written warranty and any number behind "near-zero EMF". We have not used one and earn nothing from the brand. For its cold plunges, see Sun Home vs Plunge and Polar Monkeys vs Plunge; for Sun Home's own range, the Sun Home Saunas review.
Questions people actually ask
How hot does the Plunge sauna get?
What outlet does the Plunge sauna need?
Can the Plunge infrared sauna go outside?
What warranty does Plunge give on its saunas?
Sources
- Plunge — The Sauna product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Plunge — The Sauna Mini product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Plunge — The Infrared Sauna product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Plunge — The Infrared Sauna Pro product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Plunge — warranty page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — outdoor traditional sauna listings, for the alternatives — checked Sep 11, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.