Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Comparison · Cold Plunge

Sun Home vs Plunge

The two best-known integrated plunge brands now both sell saunas too. On their own published numbers, Sun Home goes colder and bigger; Plunge publishes how its chiller copes with a hot day.

By Sawyer V.Last updated
Cold plunge tub on a wooden deck

The short version: Sun Home's integrated Cold Plunge Pro line publishes a 28 °F minimum, automatic ice-making, and ozone plus UV sanitation, in 150- to 238-gallon tubs on a standard plug. Plunge's All-In publishes 37 °F, 105 gallons, a 0.75 HP chiller it says holds 37 °F in 120 °F air, and ozone with double the filtration. Sun Home goes colder and bigger; Plunge is smaller and tells you how its chiller copes with heat.

The integrated plunges

Integrated plunges, as each brand publishes them
Sun Home Cold Plunge ProSun Home Pro ApexPlunge All-In
Water capacity150 gal180 gal105 gal
Minimum temperature28 °F28 °F37 °F
SanitationOzone and UV, with dual-pump filtrationOzone and UVOzone, with double the filtration
Cooling, as publishedIntegrated chiller with automatic ice-makingIntegrated chiller0.75 HP; holds 37 °F in 120 °F ambient air
ElectricalDedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, NEMA 5-15 plugDedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, NEMA 5-15 plugDedicated 120 V, 15 A circuit
Outside (L × W × H)78.7 × 33.5 × 34.2 in71.5 × 30.75 × 60.5 in76.75 × 31.5 × 28.75 in
Weight400 lb528 lb238 lb empty; 1,150 lb filled
Warranty, as listed1+ yearNot in the Key Features we read1 year

Figures from each brand's product pages, read on 2026-09-11. Sun Home's largest plunge, the 238-gallon Titan XL, is covered in our Titan XL review.

Cold: 28 °F against 37 °F

This is the clearest published difference. Sun Home says its Pro line reaches 28 °F and makes thick, floating ice by cycling through cooling, ice-making and defrost on its own. Plunge publishes 37 °F for the All-In and for its Pro Chiller. Both are far colder than most people need — the studies our cold plunge protocol page summarizes commonly used roughly 50 to 59 °F. The difference matters if ice is the point, and only Sun Home publishes ice.

Heat: how each copes with a hot day

Plunge publishes something Sun Home's Key Features do not: that the All-In's 0.75 HP chiller maintains 37 °F in 120 °F ambient air. Sun Home gives the minimum temperature and asks for airflow around the unit — 12 inches at the sides and 36 at the front for the Pro — but not a hot-weather rating. If your plunge will sit in a hot garage or on a sunny patio, the Plunge figure is useful, and it is worth asking Sun Home for its equivalent.

The smaller and portable plunges

Sun Home's portable plunges against Plunge's Pod and Air, as published
Sun Home VerticalSun Home HorizontalPlunge PodPlunge Air
FormUpright inflatable with a standalone chillerReclining inflatable with a standalone chillerUpright hard-shell tubInflatable tub
CapacityRoughly 80–90 gal, per Sun Home80–90 gal in the specifications; 128 gal in Key Features87 gal105 gal
Coldest, as published32 °F32 °F37 °F with the Pro ChillerDepends on the chiller fitted
HeatingTo 107 °FTo 107 °FWith the optional heaterWith the optional heater
ElectricalDedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, NEMA 5-15Dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit, NEMA 5-15120 V, 15 A GFCI outlet120 V, 15 A dedicated circuit
Size35.4 × 35.4 × 35.4 in77.2 × 27.6 × 24.4 in45 × 30 × 34 in61 × 32 × 28 in
Warranty, as listed1+ year1 year1 year1 year on the chiller; 90 days on the tub

Plunge says the Pod suits users up to 6 ft 7 in, and lists the Air at 28 lb empty and about 904 lb filled. Sun Home's two capacity figures for the Horizontal are discussed in our review of its portable plunges.

Both now sell saunas

Plunge's range now includes saunas, which turns this into a whole-setup comparison. Its traditional Sauna heats to 230 °F with a HUUM heater, in weatherproof cedar, on a 240 V circuit — 30 A for the Standard, 50 A for the XL — with a two-year warranty. Sun Home's outdoor Solaris also uses a HUUM heater to a published 230 °F, on a hardwired 25 A or 40 A circuit, with a three-year warranty.

On the infrared side, Plunge's Infrared Sauna pairs far-infrared panels with full-spectrum towers and reaches 160 °F on a standard outlet (175 °F for the Pro), with five years on cabinetry and heaters, two on electronics and controls, and one on glass and power supplies; it describes a near-zero EMF rating without a figure. Sun Home's far-infrared Solstice publishes 140 °F, seven years, and EMF measured at stated distances — see Equinox vs Solstice for Sun Home's two indoor lines.

Which to choose

  • Sun Home, if you want water below freezing, ice, a larger tub, or UV as well as ozone — on a standard plug.
  • Plunge, if a published hot-weather rating matters, you want a smaller footprint, or you prefer an upright hard-shell Pod to an inflatable.

Alternatives you can buy today

Neither brand sells its plunges through Amazon. The picks below are integrated plunges and kits that are. They are not Sun Home or Plunge products, and none publishes a minimum below 37 °F.

Integrated and kit alternatives on Amazon

Top pick · A premium-looking integrated plunge

AURGOD Cedar Cold Plunge Tub with 1.5 HP Hot and Cold Chiller

AURGOD

$5,690.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Cedar outside, stainless inside, a built-in bench and a hot-and-cold chiller with filtration and UV — the closest Amazon gets to a furniture-grade integrated plunge.

Published specifications
TubCanadian red cedar with a stainless steel lining base, steel frame
Size80 × 34 × 39 in
Capacity600 L (about 158 gal)
Chiller1.5 HP in the title and model name; cools and heats, 37–107 °F
Water careBuilt-in filter and UV; ozone/UV in the title
ControlWi-Fi and digital display
SeatingBuilt-in wooden bench
Weight700 lb
Voltage110 V

What works

  • Cedar and stainless construction
  • Heats as well as cools
  • Built-in bench

What doesn't

  • The listing's component row says 1 HP where the title says 1.5 HP — confirm with the seller
  • 700 lb before water — a real floor question
  • The seller says it may not hold set temperature at 25 °F and below

Skip it ifit would live on an upper floor. 700 lb empty plus about 158 gallons of water needs structural advice first.

#2 · The closest to an integrated premium plunge

Duthss 1-Person All-in-One Cold Plunge, 1 HP Chiller, 400 L

Duthss

$3,699.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Chiller, circulation and filtration built into a one-piece insulated shell — no external hoses — which is the design premium integrated plunges sell.

Published specifications
Capacity400 L (about 106 gallons)
ShellOne-piece molded PE with PU insulation
ChillerBuilt-in 1 HP, up to 2,100 W cooling output
Temperature rangeAbout 37.4–104 °F
Dimensions60" × 30.5" × 26"
Supply110 V

What works

  • No exposed hoses or fittings to leak
  • Seamless molded shell
  • Heats as well as cools

What doesn't

  • If the chiller fails, the plunge is out of service
  • One-person interior
  • Power draw not published separately

Skip it ifyou want to replace the chiller independently of the tub.

#3 · A long integrated tub

ICEGALAX All-in-One Cold Plunge Tub with Built-In Chiller, 38 °F

ICEGALAX

$4,399.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

A plug-and-play integrated tub at 77 inches long, with seven sensors including a flow meter — more monitoring than most chillers offer.

Published specifications
DesignIntegrated cooling and filtration
Minimum temperature38 °F
Dimensions77" × 32" × 28"
Monitoring7 sensors including thermistors, pressure and flow
ControlApp
IncludedThermal cover, 3 replacement filters

What works

  • No plumbing — plug in and fill
  • Long enough to recline
  • Flow and pressure monitoring

What doesn't

  • Capacity not stated in the feature text
  • One integrated appliance — a chiller fault takes the tub out
  • Power draw not published

Skip it ifyou want to size the chiller against a known volume. The listing does not state it.

#4 · A complete kit with GFCI plug

JUGRFIT 121-Gallon Cold Plunge Tub with 1,050 W Chiller

JUGRFIT

$1,499.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Everything in one box, down to a GFCI-protected plug, with drop-stitch walls far firmer than an ordinary inflatable.

Published specifications
Tub121 gallons, drop-stitch
Dimensions53" × 32" × 24"
Chiller1,050 W cooling, to 37 °F
Weather ratingChiller IPX4
IncludedLid, chiller with filter and pump, hoses, valves, GFCI plug

What works

  • GFCI plug included
  • Firm drop-stitch walls
  • Outdoor-rated chiller

What doesn't

  • Still an inflatable — seams wear
  • Hoses are connections that can leak
  • The seller's running-cost estimate is its own, not verified by us

Skip it ifthe plunge is a permanent installation. A rigid tub will outlast it.

Our honest position

On published specifications, Sun Home's plunges are colder, larger and sanitized more ways; Plunge's are smaller and better documented on hot-weather performance. Cold water does not know what it cost — our premium plunge brands page makes that case — so choose on size, sanitation, circuit and warranty. We earn nothing from either brand.

Questions people actually ask

Is Sun Home or Plunge colder?
Sun Home, on published figures: its Cold Plunge Pro line reaches 28 °F with automatic ice-making, and its portable plunges 32 °F. Plunge publishes 37 °F for the All-In and the Pro Chiller. Both are far colder than the roughly 50–59 °F most studies used.
Which is bigger, a Sun Home or a Plunge cold plunge?
Sun Home's integrated plunges hold 150 gallons (Pro), 180 (Apex) and 238 (Titan XL). Plunge's All-In holds 105 gallons, its Air 105 and its Pod 87.
Do Sun Home and Plunge plunges need special wiring?
Not special, but dedicated. Sun Home specifies a dedicated 15 A GFCI circuit with a standard NEMA 5-15 plug; Plunge specifies a dedicated 120 V, 15 A circuit for the All-In and Air and a 15 A GFCI outlet for the Pod.
Can you buy Sun Home or Plunge on Amazon?
Both sell direct. The buy links on this page are for integrated plunges and kits available on Amazon, and they are not products from either brand.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.