HUUM heaters compared
HUUM builds the best-looking heaters in the category and publishes everything in metric, including the fuse sizes. Every model also needs a separate UKU controller, which is a cost the product pages mention only in passing.

The short version: HUUM makes six electric families. Drop is the wall heater. Cliff, Steel and Core are slim floor columns that can be embedded into a bench. Hive and Hive Mini are the rock towers, with Hive holding 250 kg of stone. Every one of them requires a separate UKU control system, sold separately, in Local, Wi-Fi or GSM form. HUUM publishes room volumes in cubic meters and never in cubic feet — the Amazon listings translate, its own site does not — and it publishes no warranty length or heat-up time on any HTML page.
The HUUM heaters on Amazon
| # | Product | Best for | Key spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HUUM Drop Sauna Heater with UKU Wi-Fi Control BundleThe reference Wi-Fi control in this category, and the only listing here that publishes the full electrical table your electrician will actually ask for. | The overall Wi-Fi control | 4.5–9 kW at 240 V; published amperage, breaker size and wire gauge per model; HUUM app | |
| 2 | HUUM Cliff 6.0 kW Sauna Heater with UKU ControlA floor-standing column that takes far more stone than a wall panel of the same output, in a footprint the size of a bar stool. | A slim tower in a small room | 6 kW; 975 mm tall by 270 mm square; 75 kg of stone | |
| 3 | HUUM Steel 9.0 kW Sauna Heater with UKU ControlTwice the stone of the Cliff at the same height, which is what makes löyly soft rather than sharp in a bigger room. | Stone mass at 9 kW | 9 kW; 150 kg of stone; 975 mm tall | |
| 4 | HUUM Safety Rail for Drop Series Sauna HeatersHUUM's own rail for its Drop heaters — wooden arcs on stainless steel supports and wall brackets, shaped to match the heater. | HUUM Drop heaters | Light wooden arcs on stainless supports and wall brackets, for HUUM Drop heaters | |
| 5 | HUUM Safety Rail for HIVE Mini Series Sauna HeatersHUUM's rail for its Hive Mini heaters, built the same way as the Drop rail — wooden arcs on stainless supports and wall brackets. | HUUM Hive Mini heaters | Light wooden arcs on stainless supports and wall brackets, for HUUM Hive Mini heaters |
#ad Amazon links are affiliate links. Tap any row to jump to that product's full write-up. Prices are Amazon's own, as of Sep 27, 2026; confirm the current price on Amazon.
The lineup by output and volume
| Model | Outputs | Room volume | Stones | Size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drop | 4.5, 6, 7.5, 8.5 kW | 3–7 to 8–13 m³ | 55 kg | 590 × 390 × 335 mm, wall |
| Cliff | 6, 9, 10.5 kW | 5–9 to 10–16 m³ | 75 kg | 975 × 270 × 270 mm, floor |
| Cliff Mini | 3.5 kW | 3–5 m³ | 60 kg | 975 × 270 × 160 mm |
| Steel | 6, 9, 10.5 kW | 5–9 to 10–16 m³ | 150 kg | 975 × 320 × 320 mm, floor |
| Steel Mini | 3.5 kW | 3–5 m³ | 60 kg | 975 × 310 × 160 mm |
| Core | 6, 9, 10.5 kW | 5–9 to 10–16 m³ | 40 kg | 830 × 385 × 385 mm, bench-embeddable |
| Hive Mini | 6, 9, 10.5 kW | 5–9 to 10–16 m³ | 150 kg | 750 mm high, 460 mm diameter |
| Hive | 12, 15, 18 kW | 12–18 to 18–28 m³ | 250 kg | 750 mm high, 560 mm diameter |
From huum.eu product pages, read on 2026-09-23. HUUM publishes cubic meters only; 5–9 m³ is roughly 177–318 cubic feet. Its US pages publish 240 V fuse sizes as images rather than text.
Two practical notes on that table. The 10.5 kW versions of Cliff, Steel and Hive Mini are not available single phase, so a US home without three-phase service tops out at 9 kW in those families. And Core holds only 40 kg of stone — the lowest in the range — because it is designed to disappear into a bench rather than to be a rock tower. If stone mass is what you are buying, Steel and Hive are the ones. Our sauna heater sizing guide converts your room to the metric figures HUUM uses.
Current, fuses and what your electrician will ask
- Drop: 20 A at 4.5 kW, 32 A at 6 kW and 40 A at 7.5 and 8.5 kW on single-phase 230 V; 10 to 16 A on three-phase 400 V. US pages list 240 V with fuses from 30 to 50 A.
- Cliff and Steel: 32 A at 6 kW and 40 A at 9 kW single phase; the 10.5 kW is three-phase only.
- Core: 32 A, 50 A and 63 A at 6, 9 and 10.5 kW single phase — the heaviest single-phase draw in the range.
- Hive: three-phase only on HUUM's European pages; US listings show 240 V with twin 30 A or twin 50 A fuses.
- Every model needs a heat-resistant supply cable and a UKU control unit, both sold separately.
HUUM also publishes safety distances per model and per output — A, B, C and H figures on every product page — and a line that matters more than it looks: the manufacturer's warranty is invalid if the heater and the sauna room have been dimensioned incorrectly. In other words, undersizing or oversizing is not just a comfort problem with this brand. Our outdoor sauna electrical guide covers the circuit side.
Bench embedding, which is the HUUM signature
Cliff, Steel and Core are all designed to sit partly inside a bench: Cliff and Steel need at least 550 mm protruding above the bench surface, Hive Mini needs 350 mm, and Core can be embedded along its full length. That is how HUUM gets a 9 kW heater into a room without a column in the middle of the floor, and it is a genuinely different installation to plan for than a wall unit — the bench has to be built around the heater, not before it. Our Finnish sauna guide covers why the foot bench must still sit above the stones whatever you embed.
The UKU control is not optional
Every HUUM electric heater is sold without controls. UKU Local is the panel alone; UKU Wi-Fi adds the app; UKU GSM covers saunas outside Wi-Fi range, which is a real answer for a garden sauna at the end of a plot. Panels come in glass, classic and wood finishes, and the system can also switch sauna lighting, ventilation and a steamer. Budget for it: on Amazon the HUUM listings that include a UKU are bundles, and the price difference against a bare heater is the controller. See best sauna controllers for the wider field.
Converting HUUM's metric ratings
HUUM rates rooms in cubic meters, and a cubic meter is 35.3 cubic feet. So the common bands come out as roughly 106 to 177 cubic feet for a 3–5 m³ Mini, 177 to 318 for the 5–9 m³ 6 kW models, 282 to 459 for the 8–13 m³ 9 kW models, and 353 to 565 for the 10–16 m³ 10.5 kW versions. A 5 × 7 room with a 7-foot ceiling is 245 cubic feet, or 6.9 m³ — comfortably a 6 kW Drop, Cliff, Steel or Core, and a Hive Mini if you want the stone mass. Doing that conversion yourself is unavoidable with this brand unless you are shopping from the Amazon listings, which quote cubic feet that HUUM's own site does not.
Which HUUM for which room
| If you want | Pick | Because |
|---|---|---|
| No floor space used | Drop | Wall-mounted, 55 kg of stone, the only wall unit in the range |
| Maximum löyly in a home room | Steel 9 kW or Hive Mini | 150 kg of stone in a 975 mm column or a 750 mm tower |
| A heater that disappears | Core | Embeds into the bench along its full length, at 40 kg of stone |
| The smallest room | Cliff Mini or Steel Mini | 3.5 kW on a 16 A single-phase circuit, rated 3–5 m³ |
| A commercial or very large room | Hive 12–18 kW | 250 kg of stone, three-phase, rated to 28 m³ |
From HUUM's published specifications, read on 2026-09-23.
What HUUM does not publish
- A warranty length on any HTML page — the terms are a PDF we could not read.
- Any heat-up time, for any model.
- Cubic-feet room ratings — metric only, while its Amazon listings quote cubic feet.
- Mounting type for the full-size Hive on its product page.
- Specifications for the new Core Wall family, which is listed but not detailed.
HUUM or Harvia
Harvia publishes cubic feet, sells more control variants with built-in dials, and is easier to buy in the US through several retailers. HUUM publishes fuse sizes and safety distances in more detail, builds the better-looking object, and requires a separate controller on every model. On stone mass they meet in the middle — a Harvia Cilindro at 176 pounds against a HUUM Steel at 330. Our Harvia vs HUUM page runs that comparison directly, and Harvia heaters compared covers the other lineup.
The picks
HUUM Drop Sauna Heater with UKU Wi-Fi Control Bundle
HUUM
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
The reference Wi-Fi control in this category, and the only listing here that publishes the full electrical table your electrician will actually ask for.
| Outputs | 4.5, 6.0, 7.5 and 9.0 kW |
|---|---|
| Electrical | 240 V single phase — 18.8 A / 30 A breaker / 10 AWG at 4.5 kW, up to 37.5 A / 50 A breaker / 8 AWG at 9 kW |
| Room volume | 106–247 cu ft at 4.5 kW, up to 282–530 cu ft at 9 kW |
| App | Start and end time, target temperature, current temperature, ready notification |
| In the box | Heater, wall bracket, control display panel, main control module, temperature sensor, door sensor, manual |
| Dimensions | 15.4 W × 13.2 D × 23.3 H in |
| Construction | Stainless steel, wall mounted; stones in direct contact with the elements |
| Warranty, per the listing | Limited 3 years, excluding elements |
| Origin | Designed, engineered and made in Estonia |
What works
- Publishes amperage, breaker size, wire gauge and room volume for every output
- Real remote control — set a start time and get a ready notification
- A door sensor is included, which most controls omit
What doesn't
- It is a heater bundle, not a standalone controller — you are replacing the heater too
- 240 V hardwired, so an electrician is not optional
- The three-year warranty excludes the elements
Skip it ifyou already have a heater you are happy with. This replaces it; a retrofit sensor or a control box does not.
HUUM Cliff 6.0 kW Sauna Heater with UKU Control
HUUM
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A floor-standing column that takes far more stone than a wall panel of the same output, in a footprint the size of a bar stool.
| Output | 6 kW |
|---|---|
| Rated volume | 5–9 m³ per HUUM; up to 353 cu ft per the listing |
| Size | 975 mm H × 270 mm W × 270 mm D |
| Weight | 16–17 kg |
| Stones | 75 kg (165 lb), included per the listing |
| Electrical | 1-phase 230 V at 32 A, or 3-phase 400 V at 10 A; US listings are 240 V |
| Control | Separate UKU control unit, included in this listing |
What works
- Far more stone mass than a wall heater at the same kW
- Can be embedded in a bench with at least 550 mm protruding
- UKU control with the HUUM app included
What doesn't
- HUUM publishes metric only — no cubic-feet rating on its own site
- Takes floor space a wall heater does not
- No warranty length published on the product page
Skip it ifyour bench layout leaves no floor clearance. A column needs its safety distances on all four sides.
Specs above are the manufacturer's published figures — source.
HUUM Steel 9.0 kW Sauna Heater with UKU Control
HUUM
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Twice the stone of the Cliff at the same height, which is what makes löyly soft rather than sharp in a bigger room.
| Output | 9 kW |
|---|---|
| Rated volume | 8–13 m³ per HUUM; up to 524 cu ft per the listing |
| Size | 975 mm H × 320 mm W × 320 mm D |
| Weight | 15–16 kg empty |
| Stones | 150 kg (330 lb), included per the listing |
| Electrical | 1-phase 230 V at 40 A, or 3-phase 400 V at 16 A; US listings are 240 V |
| Mounting | Floor standing, or embedded in a bench with 550 mm protruding |
What works
- 150 kg of stone is a deep thermal reservoir for repeated löyly
- Made in Estonia, with published safety distances per model
- UKU control and stones included in this listing
What doesn't
- No cubic-feet rating on HUUM's own site
- No published warranty length on the product page
- 9 kW single phase is a 40 A circuit
Skip it ifyour room is under about 280 cubic feet — the 6 kW Cliff or Steel covers it on a smaller circuit.
Specs above are the manufacturer's published figures — source.
HUUM Safety Rail for Drop Series Sauna Heaters
HUUM
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
HUUM's own rail for its Drop heaters — wooden arcs on stainless steel supports and wall brackets, shaped to match the heater.
| Fits | HUUM Drop series heaters |
|---|---|
| Rail | Light-colored wooden arcs |
| Fixings | Stainless steel heater supports and wall brackets |
| Maker | HUUM |
What works
- Made by the heater's maker
- Stainless fixings to heater and wall
- Matches the Drop's shape
What doesn't
- Fits Drop heaters only
- Wood species not stated
- Dimensions not stated in the listing
Skip it ifyour heater is not a HUUM Drop. Buy the rail made for your heater.
HUUM Safety Rail for HIVE Mini Series Sauna Heaters
HUUM
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
HUUM's rail for its Hive Mini heaters, built the same way as the Drop rail — wooden arcs on stainless supports and wall brackets.
| Fits | HUUM HIVE Mini series heaters |
|---|---|
| Rail | Light-colored wooden arcs |
| Fixings | Stainless steel heater supports and wall brackets |
| Maker | HUUM |
What works
- Made by the heater's maker
- Stainless fixings to heater and wall
- Matches the Hive Mini's shape
What doesn't
- Fits Hive Mini heaters only
- Wood species not stated
- Dimensions not stated in the listing
Skip it ifyour heater is not a HUUM Hive Mini. Buy the rail made for your heater.
Questions people actually ask
Do HUUM heaters include a controller?
Which HUUM heater holds the most stone?
Can a HUUM heater run on single-phase power?
Can you build a HUUM heater into a bench?
What is the HUUM warranty?
Sources
- HUUM — product range — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — Drop specifications — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — Cliff specifications — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — Steel specifications — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — Core specifications — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — Hive specifications — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — Hive Mini specifications — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM US — electric heater support and 240 V tables — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — how to choose a sauna controller — checked Sep 23, 2026
- HUUM — warranty page (terms published only as a PDF) — checked Sep 23, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.