Sun Home Nova vs Solaris
Both are traditional saunas with HUUM heaters and a published 230 °F. One goes in a finished room indoors; the other is delivered as a building for your garden. The warranty runs the opposite way from what you would guess.

The short version: the Nova is an indoor traditional room in Canadian cedar, hardwired to a 30 A or 40 A circuit, with a limited lifetime warranty on the cabinetry. The Solaris is an outdoor traditional sauna in thermo-alder, delivered fully built, hardwired to 25 A or 40 A, with three years on the cabinetry. Same heat, same heater brand. The question is whether your sauna lives in the house or in the garden.
Side by side
| Nova 3 | Nova 6 | Solaris 4 | Solaris 6 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Setting | Indoor | Indoor | Outdoor | Outdoor |
| Seats | 3 | 6 | 2–4 | 4–6 |
| Wood | Canadian cedar | Canadian cedar | Thermo-alder | Thermo-alder |
| Heater | HUUM DROP 6 kW | HUUM DROP 7.5 kW | HUUM DROP 6 kW | HUUM HIVE Mini 9 kW |
| Maximum temperature | 230 °F | 230 °F | 230 °F | 230 °F |
| Electrical | Dedicated 30 A, hardwired, 240 V | Dedicated 40 A, hardwired, 240 V | Dedicated 25 A, hardwired, 240 V | Dedicated 40 A, hardwired, 240 V |
| Outside (L × W × H) | 57.1 × 64.9 × 82.7 in | 68.9 × 78.7 × 82.7 in | 68.9 × 90.1 × 94.5 in | 90.1 × 90.1 × 94.5 in |
| Weight | 772 lb | 926 lb | 1,698 lb | 1,874 lb |
| Glass | Thermal-optimized black privacy glass | Thermal-optimized black privacy glass | 8 mm glass | 32 mm double-pane glass |
| Cabinetry warranty | Limited lifetime | Limited lifetime | 3 years | 3 years |
Figures from Sun Home's product pages and warranty page, read on 2026-09-11. Sun Home gives both Solaris models a 79-inch cabin height; it does not state the Nova's interior height.
Indoors: what the Nova asks of your room
Sun Home says the Nova installs in a finished indoor room — not a recessed alcove — with about a foot of clearance on the heater side for the fresh-air intake, two feet on the exhaust side and two feet overhead. It is hardwired: a licensed electrician runs a dedicated 240 V circuit, 30 A for the Nova 3 and 40 A for the Nova 6, and Sun Home suggests doing that before delivery. The cabin comes as one freight crate, with the heater, controller and stones shipped separately. Inside there is a carbonized hex-tile back wall, dual-stack benches and two lighting systems. We read it in full in the Nova review.
Outdoors: what the Solaris asks of your garden
The Solaris needs a level, load-bearing outdoor pad — Sun Home puts it at 1,700 to 1,900 lb — and a clear path for delivery of a fully built structure. It is hardwired to a dedicated 240 V service, and Sun Home asks you to share the model with your electrician before delivery because the amperage differs. Sun Home describes high-density insulation injected within the frame for faster heat-up, and model-specific glazing: 8 mm glass on the Solaris 4 and 32 mm double-pane on the Solaris 6. Its thermo-alder is thermally modified wood; thermowood vs cedar explains what that treatment does. Our foundation guide and electrical guide cover both jobs, and the Solaris review the model.
The warranty runs the other way
You might expect the building that lives outdoors to carry the longer cover. On Sun Home's warranty page it is the reverse: the Nova has a limited lifetime warranty on cabinetry and one year each on fan and light controls and LED lighting, with its HUUM heater under HUUM's own terms — three years on the heater body and controls for residential use, with the heating elements treated as consumables. The Nova's own section defines its lifetime as seven years and says the cover is for replacement parts only, with labor and technician costs not covered. The Solaris has a three-year residential limited warranty on its cabinetry, interior and exterior wood. Sun Home's general terms exclude weathering and weather events — which matters more for the building in the garden.
Heat and use
Both publish 230 °F from HUUM heaters, and both warm a full bed of stones for real löyly. Sun Home notes that a traditional sauna takes about an hour to come up to temperature, and both heaters pair with an app so you can start the preheat from indoors. The practical difference is the walk: a Nova is down the hall; a Solaris is across the garden, which is lovely in snow and a commitment in rain. Our cold climate page is honest about both.
Which to choose
- The Nova, if you have a finished room with the clearances, want the longer cabinetry cover and would rather not build a pad.
- The Solaris, if the sauna should be its own building outdoors, you can take delivery of a fully built structure of up to 1,874 lb, and you want larger glazing and seating for up to six.
Alternatives you can buy today
Neither sells through Amazon. The picks below are traditional saunas with named 6 kW heaters — two indoor rooms and two outdoor saunas. They are not Sun Home products; all use Harvia or other 6 kW heaters rather than HUUM, and none publishes 230 °F.
Traditional saunas on Amazon
AURGOD 2-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna, Canadian Hemlock, 6 kW Harvia
AURGOD
$2,990.00 · 7% off
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A named Harvia heater in a hemlock room with the full accessory set in the box — an indoor traditional sauna that is complete on day one.
| Capacity | 2 person |
|---|---|
| Wood | Canadian hemlock |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia electric, 220 V |
| Temperature range | 120–195 °F |
| Dimensions | 51" × 41" × 75" |
| Weight | 600 lb |
| Included | 8 mm tempered door, stones, bucket and ladle, hygrometer, hourglass |
What works
- A Harvia heater with a parts channel
- True traditional temperatures
- Everything for the first session included
What doesn't
- Needs a 220–240 V circuit
- Listed as a "steam" sauna — it is a traditional room that takes water on stones
- 600 lb of panels to move in
Skip it ifyou cannot add a 240 V circuit where it will go.
Canadian Red Cedar 2-Person Traditional Sauna, 6 kW Harvia
MCP Distributions
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A real Harvia heater inside a cedar room, sold as one box. If you have been running an infrared cabin and want actual loyly, this is the shortest path to it.
| Capacity | 2 person |
|---|---|
| Type | Traditional, wet or dry |
| Wood | Canadian red cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia |
| Circuit | 240 V — required for a 6 kW heater |
| Extras | Built-in sound system |
| Stones | Included |
What works
- Harvia is a heater brand with a published spec sheet and a real parts supply
- Cedar rather than hemlock — better rot resistance where humidity is high
- Wet or dry, so you can actually throw water
What doesn't
- 6 kW needs a dedicated 240 V circuit and a permit in most places
- Cedar costs more and the price reflects it
- A two-person footprint with a stove in it is tight
Skip it ifyou cannot run 240 V. Every traditional heater above roughly 4.5 kW needs it, and there is no workaround worth attempting.
4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW Harvia
Generic Amazon listing
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Cedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five.
| Capacity | 4 person |
|---|---|
| Height | 78" |
| Wood | Canadian cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia |
| Type | Traditional, vertical barrel |
| Circuit | 240 V — required for a 6 kW heater |
| Roof covering | Not published in the listing |
What works
- A Harvia heater means a published spec sheet and a real parts channel
- Cedar is the correct wood for a structure that lives outside year round
- 6 kW is properly sized for a four-person barrel volume
What doesn't
- A 240 V run to the yard is a real, permitted expense
- Roof covering is not specified, and barrels leak at the top first
- Freight delivery with a curbside drop — you move it yourself
Skip it ifyour yard has no realistic path for a 240 V run. Trenching a circuit to the back of a garden regularly costs more than the sauna, and it is not a corner worth cutting.
Trustmade 3–4 Person Traditional Sauna, Japanese Cedar, 6 kW
Trustmade
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Cedar, a 6 kW heater and published bench dimensions — enough to know three people will actually fit before a 712 lb crate arrives.
| Heater | 6 kW metal stove, 220–240 V, with volcanic stones |
|---|---|
| Maximum temperature | 194 °F, in 15–25 minutes per the listing |
| Outside | 59.1 L × 55.1 W × 81.9 H in |
| Benches | 55.1 × 17.7 in and 33.1 × 17.7 in |
| Wood | Japanese cedar with a protective finish |
| Bench load | 880 lb |
| Delivery | LTL truck freight; 712 lb gross in one crate |
What works
- Cedar, the better species outdoors
- Bench dimensions published — the real capacity check
- Full accessory set including a thermo-hygrometer
What doesn't
- Roof covering not specified in the listing
- New to Amazon, so the listing has no history
- A single 712 lb crate needs a clear route from the truck
Skip it ifyour site cannot take a truck delivery and a single heavy crate.
Our honest position
Where the sauna lives decides this, not the specification: the heat and the heater brand are the same. If you have the room indoors, the Nova's cabinetry warranty is the stronger promise on paper. If you want a building in the garden, the Solaris is the one designed for it. Buy either from Sun Home directly; we earn nothing either way.
Questions people actually ask
What is the difference between the Sun Home Nova and Solaris?
Which Sun Home traditional sauna has the longer warranty?
Do the Nova and Solaris need 240 V?
Can you buy the Nova or Solaris on Amazon?
Sources
- Sun Home Saunas — Nova 3-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Nova 6-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Solaris 4-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Solaris 6-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — warranty information — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — traditional sauna listings, for the alternatives — checked Sep 11, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.