Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Comparison · Outdoor Saunas

Sun Home vs Almost Heaven

Sun Home sells a handful of traditional saunas with HUUM heaters and a published 230 °F. Almost Heaven sells dozens of barrels, cubes, cabins and rooms with Harvia heaters, made in the USA. One is a short, premium list; the other is a catalog.

By Sawyer V.Last updated
Cedar barrel sauna exterior showing stave construction

The short version: Sun Home's traditional line is the indoor Nova and the outdoor Solaris — HUUM heaters, 230 °F published, cedar or thermo-alder, the Solaris delivered fully built. Almost Heaven's is a catalog: canopy and classic barrels, cubes, cabins with porches and changing rooms, and indoor rooms, almost all with Harvia heaters, described as USA-made and delivered flat-packed for you to assemble. Sun Home publishes more heat; Almost Heaven offers far more choice and a limited lifetime warranty on its rooms.

What each publishes

Sun Home and Almost Heaven traditional saunas, from each brand's pages
Sun HomeAlmost Heaven
Traditional rangeNova (indoor, 3 or 6 person); Solaris (outdoor, 4 or 6 person)Barrels, canopy barrels, cubes, cabins and indoor rooms, 1 to 8 people
HeatersHUUM DROP 6 or 7.5 kW; HUUM HIVE Mini 9 kWHarvia KIP, Spirit, Virta and Cilindro electric; M3, Legend and Pro 20 wood-burning kits on some models
Published heat230 °F on every model175–194 °F, depending on model and heater
WoodCanadian cedar (Nova); thermo-alder (Solaris)Rustic red cedar on most barrels; thermally modified Nordic pine on its Harvia Collection barrels; spruce on several cabins
DeliveryNova: one crate, heater shipped separately. Solaris: fully builtCurbside, flat-packed, assembly required
Warranty on the roomNova: limited lifetime on cabinetry. Solaris: 3 yearsLimited lifetime on sauna room components
Heater warrantyHUUM's terms: 3 years body and controls; elements consumable (Nova)Harvia: 1 year elements, 5 years other components
Where madeNot stated on the pages we readUSA, per its warranty page
On AmazonNo listing foundOne infrared cabin and accessories

Sun Home figures from its Nova and Solaris product pages and warranty page; Almost Heaven figures from its catalog, product descriptions, homepage and warranty page; all read on 2026-09-11. Sun Home's warranty page also mentions Muskoka and Barrel traditional saunas, which were not in the catalog we read.

Heat: 230 °F against 175–194 °F

Sun Home publishes 230 °F for every Nova and Solaris. Almost Heaven publishes a figure per model: 180 °F for barrels such as the Vienna, Audra and Princeton, 175–185 °F for the Charleston, 185 °F for the Hillsboro and Sutton indoor rooms, and up to 194 °F in 45–60 minutes for its Salem and Watoga barrel kits with the 6 kW Harvia KIP smart heater. Most people sauna well below either ceiling — our temperature guide covers the usual range — so this is headroom rather than a daily difference.

Range: a short list against a catalog

Almost Heaven's range is its strength. It lists two-, four- and six-person canopy barrels with exterior benches, a barrel with a four-foot changing room, cubes with a wood-burning option, cabins with front porches and changing rooms, indoor rooms from the one-person Logan to the Olympus, which seats five to six, and a Harvia Collection of barrels in thermally modified Nordic pine, two of them with half-moon rear windows (thermowood vs cedar explains the treatment). Sun Home offers two traditional models in two sizes each. If you want a specific shape — a porch, a changing room, a wood stove — Almost Heaven is more likely to have it; our porch barrel page goes further into that format.

Delivery and assembly

Almost Heaven delivers outdoor saunas curbside in flat-pack boxes and says to plan on at least two people for assembly; professional installation is offered. Sun Home delivers the Solaris as a fully built structure — it asks for a level, load-bearing pad and a clear delivery path for 1,700 to 1,900 lb — and the Nova as a crate with the heater shipped separately. A kit saves money and asks for a weekend; a built structure asks for a crane-friendly route.

Warranty

Almost Heaven offers a limited lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects on its sauna room components, with Harvia heater cover of one year on elements and five on other parts; it excludes weathering, wear and tear, improper use or assembly, and weather events, applies in the contiguous United States and does not transfer. Sun Home gives the Nova a limited lifetime warranty on cabinetry, which its terms define as seven years for replacement parts, and the Solaris three years, with heaters under HUUM's terms. We compare the whole category's terms in sauna and cold plunge warranties compared.

Which to choose

  • Sun Home, if you want a premium traditional room with a HUUM heater and the highest published heat, and you would rather receive a built outdoor sauna than assemble a kit.
  • Almost Heaven, if you want a particular format — a canopy, a porch, a changing room, a wood stove — US manufacture, a limited lifetime warranty on the room, and you are happy to assemble.

Alternatives you can buy today

The first pick is Almost Heaven's own Laurel, a one-person indoor infrared cabin and the one Almost Heaven sauna we found with a live Amazon buy box. The other three are cedar barrels on Amazon with 6 kW heaters, two of them Harvia. Those three are not Sun Home or Almost Heaven products.

Almost Heaven's Laurel, and three barrels on Amazon

Top pick · An Almost Heaven you can buy on Amazon

Almost Heaven Laurel 1-Person Indoor Infrared Sauna, Rustic Cedar, 120 V

Almost Heaven Saunas

$4,799.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

The one Almost Heaven sauna we found with a live Amazon buy box: a one-person cedar infrared cabin, made in West Virginia, on 120 V.

Published specifications
Capacity1 person
HeatingNear- and far-infrared panels, per the listing
WoodWestern red cedar
Electrical120 V
Size36 × 53.25 × 77.63 in
Made inUSA (West Virginia), per the listing
ExtrasMood light bar, digital control pad

What works

  • A US-made cabin you can buy through Amazon
  • Red cedar
  • Installs on your existing floor, per the listing

What doesn't

  • Wattage and circuit amperage not stated in the listing
  • No EMF figure
  • One person only

Skip it ifyou want a traditional sauna. This is an infrared cabin.

#2 · The overall barrel pick

4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW Harvia

Generic Amazon listing

$3,999.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Cedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five.

Published specifications
Capacity4 person
Height78"
WoodCanadian cedar
Heater6 kW Harvia
TypeTraditional, vertical barrel
Circuit240 V — required for a 6 kW heater
Roof coveringNot published in the listing

What works

  • A Harvia heater means a published spec sheet and a real parts channel
  • Cedar is the correct wood for a structure that lives outside year round
  • 6 kW is properly sized for a four-person barrel volume

What doesn't

  • A 240 V run to the yard is a real, permitted expense
  • Roof covering is not specified, and barrels leak at the top first
  • Freight delivery with a curbside drop — you move it yourself

Skip it ifyour yard has no realistic path for a 240 V run. Trenching a circuit to the back of a garden regularly costs more than the sauna, and it is not a corner worth cutting.

#3 · A larger cedar barrel

AURGOD 4-Person Panoramic Barrel Sauna, Canadian Red Cedar, 6 kW

AURGOD

$6,390.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

A roomier red cedar barrel with a panoramic end and triple waterproofing listed, from a maker whose accessories come in the box.

Published specifications
WoodCanadian red cedar
Heater6 kW Toule, 220–240 V
Dimensions75" W × 75" D × 71" H
Weight1,200 lb
SeatingListed as seating up to 6
IncludedBucket and ladle, lighting

What works

  • Red cedar throughout the barrel
  • Generous dimensions
  • Accessories included

What doesn't

  • Titled four-person but specified for six — check what you need
  • 1,200 lb needs a real foundation
  • A panoramic glass end costs heat

Skip it ifyour site has no room for a 75-inch barrel and a delivery route to match.

#4 · Largest barrel capacity

ALEKO Liatris Barrel Sauna, 5–6 Person, 6 kW Harvia

ALEKO

Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

The UL certification on the heater is the detail worth paying for — it is what your insurer and your electrical inspector will ask about.

Published specifications
Capacity5–6 person
WoodRustic cedar
Heater6 kW Harvia, UL certified
PorchFront porch canopy
TypeDry and wet steam
Circuit240 V

What works

  • UL certification stated explicitly, which most listings avoid mentioning
  • A front canopy keeps rain off the door — a real longevity feature
  • Six-person capacity is unusual in a barrel

What doesn't

  • 6 kW is undersized for a genuine six-person volume — expect long warm-ups when full
  • Rustic cedar grading means more knots than clear cedar
  • A very large footprint for a suburban yard

Skip it ifyou regularly fill it. At 6 kW into a six-person barrel a full house is a 60-minute-plus warm-up; the four-person model with the same heater gets hot far faster.

Our honest position

These brands are built for different buyers: Sun Home for someone who wants one excellent room delivered, Almost Heaven for someone who wants to choose the exact shape and build it. We have used neither and we earn nothing from either. Our Almost Heaven review and Nova vs Solaris go further into each.

Questions people actually ask

Is Sun Home or Almost Heaven better for a traditional sauna?
We have used neither. On published terms, Sun Home offers higher published heat (230 °F) with HUUM heaters and delivers its outdoor Solaris fully built; Almost Heaven offers a much wider range of shapes with Harvia heaters, US manufacture, flat-pack delivery and a limited lifetime warranty on its rooms.
What heaters do Sun Home and Almost Heaven use?
Sun Home's Nova and Solaris use HUUM heaters — the DROP at 6 or 7.5 kW and the HIVE Mini at 9 kW. Almost Heaven uses Harvia electric heaters (KIP, Spirit, Virta, Cilindro) and offers Harvia wood-burning kits on some models.
Are Almost Heaven saunas made in the USA?
Almost Heaven's warranty page describes its saunas as USA-made. Sun Home does not state where its saunas are made on the pages we read.
Can you buy Sun Home or Almost Heaven on Amazon?
Sun Home sells direct, and we found no Sun Home listing. Almost Heaven sells one infrared cabin, the Laurel, and some accessories on Amazon; its barrels and cabins are sold through its own site.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.