Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Comparison · Outdoor Saunas

Sun Home Luminar vs Solaris

One is an outdoor infrared cabin in cedar and aluminum; the other is a traditional thermo-alder room with a HUUM heater. They answer different questions, and the specifications show which.

By Sawyer V.Last updated
Modern outdoor sauna cabin in a garden setting

The short version: the Luminar is an outdoor infrared cabin — far-infrared and full-spectrum heaters, a Canadian red cedar interior inside an aluminum shell, on a plug-in 240 V circuit, with a limited lifetime warranty. The Solaris is a traditional sauna — a HUUM heater and stones, a published 230 °F, thermo-alder, hardwired, with a three-year warranty. If you want steam and hot air, it is the Solaris. If you want infrared outdoors and the longest cover, it is the Luminar.

Side by side

Luminar and Solaris, as Sun Home publishes them
Luminar 2-PersonLuminar 5-PersonSolaris 4-PersonSolaris 6-Person
TypeOutdoor infraredOutdoor infraredOutdoor traditionalOutdoor traditional
Heaters3 far-infrared + 6 full-spectrum5 far-infrared + 10 full-spectrumHUUM DROP 6 kWHUUM HIVE Mini 9 kW
Maximum temperatureNot stated on the product pageNot stated on the product page230 °F230 °F
ConstructionCanadian red cedar inside, aerospace-grade aluminum outsideCanadian red cedar inside, aerospace-grade aluminum outsideThermo-alderThermo-alder
ElectricalDedicated 20 A, NEMA L6-20 outletDedicated 30 A, NEMA L6-30 outletDedicated 25 A, hardwiredDedicated 40 A, hardwired
Outside (L × W × H)51.5 × 57 × 82.7 in51.75 × 82.25 × 84 in68.9 × 90.1 × 94.5 in90.1 × 90.1 × 94.5 in
Weight970 lb1,270 lb1,698 lb1,874 lb
Red lightOptional upgradeOptional upgradeNot listedNot listed
WarrantyLimited lifetimeLimited lifetime3 years3 years

Figures read from Sun Home's product pages on 2026-09-11. Sun Home's site navigation describes its outdoor sauna as reaching 170 °F, but the Luminar product pages we read do not state a maximum, so we leave that cell as not stated.

Heat is the real difference

The Solaris heats the air. A HUUM heater and stones take the room to a published 230 °F, and you get steam when you throw water — the traditional sauna, outdoors. The Luminar heats you: radiant panels warm your body directly while the air stays cooler. Sun Home says the Luminar operates below 25 °F outside, and says plainly that cold air extends its warm-up. That candor is useful. It is also the general truth about infrared outdoors, which our cold climate page explains, and infrared vs traditional covers indoors.

Two ways to build for the weather

Sun Home puts it neatly for the Luminar: metal against the weather, wood against your skin — an aluminum exterior around a red cedar interior. The Solaris takes the other route and uses thermo-alder, a thermally modified wood, for the building itself. Thermal modification is what makes a softwood more stable and more resistant to rot; our cedar vs hemlock vs spruce page covers the thermally modified option. An aluminum skin needs less attention than any wood exterior; a thermo-wood building looks like a sauna.

The install is not the same job

  • The circuit. The Luminar plugs into a twist-lock receptacle — NEMA L6-20 for the two-person, L6-30 for the five-person — on a dedicated circuit. The Solaris is hardwired on a dedicated 25 A (four-person) or 40 A (six-person) circuit. Either way, an electrician, and an outdoor run — see the electrical guide.
  • The weight. The Luminar is 970 to 1,270 lb; the Solaris 1,698 to 1,874 lb, and Sun Home asks for a clear path for delivery of a fully built structure. Both need a level, load-bearing base — the foundation guide covers the options.
  • The clearances. For the Luminar, Sun Home asks for drainage that never pools at the base, 4 to 6 inches behind and beside it, and 20 to 24 inches above the roof for service access.

The warranty runs the other way

It is easy to assume the traditional room carries the longer cover. On Sun Home's published terms it does not: the Luminar lists a limited lifetime warranty and the Solaris three years. Read the terms themselves before you rely on either — limited warranties are defined by their exclusions — but as published, that is a real point in the Luminar's favor.

Which to choose

  • The Solaris, if you want a traditional sauna: hot air, steam, a HUUM heater — and you can hardwire a 25 A or 40 A circuit and take delivery of a very heavy building.
  • The Luminar, if you want infrared outdoors, a smaller and lighter cabin, an optional red light upgrade and the longer warranty — and your winters are mild enough that infrared heat suits them.

Alternatives you can buy today

Neither sells through Amazon. The picks below are outdoor alternatives in both classes — two infrared cabins and two traditional cedar barrels — and are not Sun Home products. None publishes EMF testing at stated distances, and none carries a lifetime warranty.

Outdoor alternatives on Amazon

Top pick · Putting infrared outdoors

LTCCDSS Full-Spectrum Outdoor Infrared Sauna, 4 Person

LTCCDSS

$2,280.00 · View on Amazon

$2,480.00 · 8% off

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

An infrared cabin specified for outdoor use with an actual sloped roof, which is the detail that decides whether an outdoor cabin survives its third winter.

Published specifications
Capacity4 person
SpectrumNear, mid and far infrared
WoodEastern Canadian soft fir
RoofSloped, for outdoor use
Shipping weight154 pounds
PowerNot published
EMF figureNot published

What works

  • A specified sloped roof rather than a flat top that ponds water
  • Full spectrum rather than far infrared alone
  • Names the wood species and its region rather than saying "cedar-look"

What doesn't

  • No published wattage or voltage, so the electrical requirement is unknown
  • Soft fir is less rot-resistant than cedar for an outdoor structure
  • Outdoor infrared loses heat far faster than an insulated traditional cabin

Skip it ifyour climate is genuinely cold. Infrared heats bodies rather than air, and outdoors in winter that is a much harder ask than it sounds.

#2 · Independent foot heating

OUTEXER 2-Person Outdoor Infrared Sauna, Fir and Red Cedar, 2,080 W

OUTEXER

$2,999.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Cedar in the build and a separately controlled foot plate — the coldest part of any outdoor infrared session handled on its own switch.

Published specifications
Power2,080 W
WoodCanadian fir and red cedar
Foot heatingIndependently controlled bottom plate
Dimensions48.8" × 38.19" × 81.89"
Weight400 lb
DeliveryLTL curbside, signature required

What works

  • Red cedar in the build
  • Foot heating on its own control
  • Dimensions and weight published

What doesn't

  • 2,080 W needs a dedicated 20 A circuit
  • Curbside delivery of a 400 lb pallet
  • Voltage not in the feature text

Skip it ifyou cannot move a pallet from the street to the garden.

#3 · The overall barrel pick

4-Person Outdoor Barrel Sauna, Canadian Cedar, 6 kW Harvia

Generic Amazon listing

$3,999.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Cedar shell, named-brand heater, four-person capacity — the three things that actually decide whether a barrel sauna is still good in year five.

Published specifications
Capacity4 person
Height78"
WoodCanadian cedar
Heater6 kW Harvia
TypeTraditional, vertical barrel
Circuit240 V — required for a 6 kW heater
Roof coveringNot published in the listing

What works

  • A Harvia heater means a published spec sheet and a real parts channel
  • Cedar is the correct wood for a structure that lives outside year round
  • 6 kW is properly sized for a four-person barrel volume

What doesn't

  • A 240 V run to the yard is a real, permitted expense
  • Roof covering is not specified, and barrels leak at the top first
  • Freight delivery with a curbside drop — you move it yourself

Skip it ifyour yard has no realistic path for a 240 V run. Trenching a circuit to the back of a garden regularly costs more than the sauna, and it is not a corner worth cutting.

#4 · A larger cedar barrel

AURGOD 4-Person Panoramic Barrel Sauna, Canadian Red Cedar, 6 kW

AURGOD

$6,390.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

A roomier red cedar barrel with a panoramic end and triple waterproofing listed, from a maker whose accessories come in the box.

Published specifications
WoodCanadian red cedar
Heater6 kW Toule, 220–240 V
Dimensions75" W × 75" D × 71" H
Weight1,200 lb
SeatingListed as seating up to 6
IncludedBucket and ladle, lighting

What works

  • Red cedar throughout the barrel
  • Generous dimensions
  • Accessories included

What doesn't

  • Titled four-person but specified for six — check what you need
  • 1,200 lb needs a real foundation
  • A panoramic glass end costs heat

Skip it ifyour site has no room for a 75-inch barrel and a delivery route to match.

Our honest position

These two are not really rivals. The Solaris is the answer if a traditional sauna is what you want, and the Luminar is the answer if outdoor infrared is. The published details that separate them — the heat, the circuit, the weight and the warranty — are the ones to decide on. Buy either from Sun Home directly; we earn nothing either way.

Questions people actually ask

What is the difference between the Sun Home Luminar and Solaris?
The Luminar is an outdoor infrared cabin with far-infrared and full-spectrum heaters, a red cedar interior and an aluminum exterior, on a plug-in 240 V circuit, with a limited lifetime warranty. The Solaris is a traditional outdoor sauna with a HUUM heater and stones, a published 230 °F maximum and thermo-alder construction, hardwired, with a three-year warranty.
Which needs the bigger electrical circuit?
The Solaris. Sun Home publishes a dedicated 25 A hardwired circuit for the four-person Solaris and 40 A for the six-person. The Luminar uses a dedicated 20 A circuit on a NEMA L6-20 outlet for the two-person and 30 A on an L6-30 for the five-person.
Can the Luminar be used in winter?
Sun Home says it operates below 25 °F outside, and also says cold ambient air extends its warm-up time. As with any infrared cabin outdoors, it heats you rather than the air, so a traditional sauna copes better with a hard winter.
Which has the longer warranty?
The Luminar, on Sun Home's published terms: a limited lifetime warranty against three years for the Solaris. Read the terms themselves before relying on either.
Can you buy the Luminar or Solaris on Amazon?
Sun Home sells both direct. The buy links on this page are for outdoor alternatives, and they are not Sun Home products.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.