Sun Home Equinox vs Eclipse
Both are Sun Home full-spectrum cabins. The Equinox is the simpler one: far and full-spectrum heaters, two or three seats, on an ordinary 20 A circuit. The Eclipse adds built-in red light, a heated floor and a calf heater — and asks for a 30 A circuit.

The short version: the Equinox is Sun Home's full-spectrum cabin without the extras — four or five far-infrared heaters plus two full-spectrum heaters, in two- and three-person sizes, on a dedicated 120 V, 20 A circuit. The Eclipse keeps the full spectrum and adds built-in red light towers, a heated floor panel and a calf heater, in two- and four-person sizes, on a dedicated 30 A circuit. If full-spectrum heat is what you are after, the Equinox gets you there on the easier circuit. If you want red light in the cabin, it is the Eclipse.
Side by side
| Equinox 2-Person | Equinox 3-Person | Eclipse 2-Person | Eclipse 4-Person | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heaters | 4 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum | 5 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum | 6 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum, heated floor panel, calf heater | 12 far-infrared + 4 full-spectrum, heated floor panel, calf heater |
| Red light | Not listed as built in | Not listed as built in | Built-in towers | Built-in towers |
| Electrical | Dedicated 20 A, 120 V | Dedicated 20 A, 120 V | Dedicated 30 A, NEMA L5-30, 120 V | Dedicated 30 A, NEMA L6-30, 240 V |
| Outside (L × W × H) | 45.9 × 50.9 × 77.7 in | 45.9 × 62.3 × 77.7 in | 47.2 × 51.5 × 76.7 in | 55.1 × 94.4 × 76.7 in |
| Weight | 541 lb | 620 lb | 600 lb | 925 lb |
| Door opening | 28 in | 28 in | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bench height | 19.5 in | 19.5 in | Not stated | Not stated |
| Interior height | Not stated | Not stated | 71.5 in | 71.5 in |
| Cabinetry and heaters | 7 years | 7 years | Limited lifetime — up to 7 years, residential | Limited lifetime — up to 7 years, residential |
| Shorter-term cover | 3 years controls; 1 year glass doors and audio | 3 years controls; 1 year glass doors and audio | 3 years controls; 1 year LED lighting, glass doors and audio | 3 years controls; 1 year LED lighting, glass doors and audio |
Figures from Sun Home's Equinox and Eclipse product pages and its warranty page, read on 2026-09-11. Both are described as ultra-low EMF; Sun Home's published EMF testing is for its heating technology rather than per model.
What the Eclipse adds
Sun Home describes the Eclipse as three walls of far-infrared panels, adjustable full-spectrum heaters behind the backrests, a heated floor panel and a dedicated calf heater, plus built-in red light therapy towers. The Equinox is described as true full-spectrum infrared — far, mid and near — from four or five far-infrared heaters and two full-spectrum panels, with chromotherapy, a Bluetooth sound system and control of each heater's intensity. Neither page publishes the wavelengths or irradiance of any red light; our red light vs infrared sauna page covers what to ask, and full-spectrum vs far-infrared what the extra heaters change.
The circuit is the practical difference
Every Equinox runs on its own dedicated 120 V, 20 A circuit, and Sun Home says to use a standard breaker because GFCI and AFCI breakers trip during normal operation — and to plug it in directly, with no power strips or extension cords. The 10-foot cord leaves the back-left of the roof. The two-person Eclipse is also 120 V, but on a dedicated 30 A circuit with a NEMA L5-30 twist-lock outlet; the four-person moves to 240 V on an L6-30. A 20 A run is the common job; a 30 A twist-lock is a bigger one, and Sun Home asks Eclipse buyers to book the electrician before delivery day.
Room, size and fit
Sun Home says a level, dry indoor spot with 4 inches of wall clearance and 12 inches above the cabin suits the Equinox, and that a 7 × 6-foot room with an 8-foot ceiling fits either size. The Eclipse asks for 4 to 6 inches at the sides and 12 to 14 above, and Sun Home notes that an unheated garage slows it down. The size ladders differ: the Equinox comes in two and three seats, the Eclipse in two and four. Sun Home publishes a 28-inch door and a 19.5-inch bench for the Equinox, and a 71.5-inch interior height for the Eclipse — our tall-user page explains why those numbers matter.
The warranty terms
On length of cover these two are close. Sun Home's warranty page gives the Equinox seven years on cabinetry and heaters for residential use, three on controls and one on glass doors and audio. The Eclipse has a limited lifetime warranty that the same page says applies for up to seven years, residential only, with three years on controls and one on LED lighting, glass doors and audio. What differs is labor: the Eclipse is covered by general terms that include parts, labor and shipping for the first 90 days, while the Equinox and Solstice section of the page does not say how labor is handled. Ask before you buy. Sun Home also notes that moisture and pest damage fall outside Equinox coverage. We compare the category's terms in sauna and cold plunge warranties compared.
Which to choose
- The Equinox, if you want full-spectrum heat on a 20 A circuit, or you need three seats rather than two or four.
- The Eclipse, if you want red light, a heated floor and a calf heater built in, and a 30 A circuit is feasible.
Alternatives you can buy today
Neither sells through Amazon. The picks below are two three-person full-spectrum cabins with red light elements, a two-to-three-person ceramic cabin with red light on 120 V, and a two-person solid red cedar far-infrared cabin. They are not Sun Home products, and none publishes EMF testing at stated distances. Our full-spectrum saunas roundup compares more of them.
Full-spectrum and red light cabins on Amazon
Smartmak 3-Person Full-Spectrum Infrared Sauna
Smartmak
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Eleven elements across 2,100 W means each one is modest: good for even coverage, less good if you were expecting the aggressive radiant punch of a few high-output panels.
| Capacity | 3 person |
|---|---|
| Power draw | 2,100 W |
| Heating elements | 11 |
| Wood | Canadian hemlock |
| Spectrum | Full-spectrum with red light |
| Extras | Wi-Fi control, speaker |
| EMF, as published | Not published |
What works
- Element count is published, which lets you reason about distribution
- 2,100 W keeps it inside a standard 20 A circuit
- Wi-Fi preheat is genuinely useful on a cabin with a long warm-up
What doesn't
- Spreading 2,100 W over 11 elements limits peak radiant intensity
- No EMF figure
- Some listed features are novelties we would not pay for and cannot assess
Skip it ifyou are upgrading specifically for stronger radiant intensity. More elements is not more power — the 2,100 W total is the number that matters.
Duthss 3-Person Full-Spectrum Infrared Sauna
Duthss
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Full spectrum at this size means a 220 V circuit, and the listing says so instead of burying it. That single line is worth more than the whole feature list.
| Capacity | 3 person |
|---|---|
| Power draw | 3,600 W |
| Voltage | 220 V |
| Interior | 60" W × 41" D × 75" H |
| Heaters | 4 carbon panels plus 4 red-light tubes |
| Wood | Hemlock |
| Extras | Foot heating, insulated glass |
What works
- Publishes interior dimensions, not just the outside box
- Foot heating addresses the most common complaint about infrared cabins
- The 220 V requirement is stated openly rather than discovered on delivery day
What doesn't
- 220 V means an electrician, a permit in most jurisdictions and a real install cost
- No EMF figure published
- 3,600 W is expensive to run — check the arithmetic before you commit
Skip it ifyou are not prepared to add a 220 V circuit. Budget the electrical work before the cabin, because on this unit the wiring is not optional.
KUNSANA 2–3 Person Corner Ceramic Infrared Sauna with Red Light, 1,810 W
KUNSANA
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
An all-ceramic cabin that publishes its tube count and per-tube wattage, in a corner footprint that fits where a rectangle will not.
| Heating | 6 ceramic tube heaters at 280 W each, plus a foot warming plate |
|---|---|
| Power | 1,810 W at 120 V |
| Wood | Canadian hemlock |
| Shape | Corner |
| Dimensions | 47.09" × 47.09" × 75.31" |
| Weight | 295 lb |
What works
- Per-heater wattage published — unusually specific
- Corner footprint
- Foot heating
What doesn't
- Ceramic heat is more intense and less even than large carbon panels
- Red light wavelengths and irradiance not stated in the feature text
- No EMF figure
Skip it ifyou prefer gentle, even heat. Ceramic tubes are the intense option.
SalusHEAT 2-Person Low-EMF Far Infrared Sauna, Red Cedar
SalusHEAT
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Solid red cedar and heaters on the door and lower walls for calves and feet — the parts of you most infrared cabins leave cold.
| EMF, as published | 0–5 mG; no measurement distance given |
|---|---|
| Power | 1,750 W |
| Heating | Panels on the front door, side walls and lower calf and foot zones |
| Wood | 100% solid red cedar |
| Dimensions | 47.24" × 39.37" × 75.67" |
| Weight | 283 lb |
What works
- Genuine solid red cedar, stated as such
- Heating that reaches calves and feet
- A two-person cabin at 1,750 W
What doesn't
- A 0–5 mG range is wide and has no distance
- 1,750 W is close to a 15 A circuit's rating — give it its own circuit
- Cedar's aroma is strong for some people
Skip it ifyou are sensitive to aromatic woods. Solid red cedar is the point of this cabin.
Our honest position
The Equinox is the full-spectrum cabin for a normal circuit; the Eclipse is the one with everything built in. Neither is a better version of the other — they answer different questions about heat, light and wiring. We earn nothing from either; our Equinox review and Eclipse review go further into each, and Equinox vs Luminar covers the indoor-or-outdoor question.
Questions people actually ask
What is the difference between the Sun Home Equinox and Eclipse?
Does the Sun Home Equinox have red light?
What circuit does the Sun Home Equinox need?
Which has the longer warranty, the Equinox or the Eclipse?
Sources
- Sun Home Saunas — Equinox 2-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Equinox 3-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Eclipse 2-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Eclipse 4-Person product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — warranty information — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — full-spectrum infrared sauna listings, for the alternatives — checked Sep 11, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.