Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Comparison · Red Light & Recovery

Red light therapy vs infrared sauna

They share the word 'infrared' and almost nothing else. One heats your whole body; the other delivers specific wavelengths to whatever faces it. Here is the difference.

By Sawyer V.Last updated Published
Red-toned light glowing in a dark room

The short version: an infrared sauna is a heating device. A red light panel is a light-delivery device. They share a word because both involve the infrared part of the spectrum, and that is genuinely most of what they have in common.

Two different devices
Infrared saunaRed light panel
Primary effectRaises body temperature; you sweatDelivers 660/850 nm light to exposed skin
Dominant wavelength bandFar infrared (heating)Red and near infrared
Do you sweat?Yes, that is the pointNo
Session length30–45 minMinutes
Space neededA cabinA panel and somewhere to stand
Power draw1,500–3,600 WTens to hundreds of watts
CircuitDedicated 20 A, or 220 VStandard outlet
Research baseWhole-body heat, sweating, cardiovascularPhotobiomodulation — skin, localized tissue

Why the shared word confuses things

Infrared is a broad slice of the spectrum. Far infrared — the long-wavelength end — is absorbed at the surface and turns into heat, which is what makes an infrared sauna warm. Near infrared — the short-wavelength end, around 810–850 nm — penetrates further and is where the photobiomodulation literature sits.

A conventional infrared sauna emits far infrared. A red light panel emits red and near infrared. A full-spectrum sauna emits both, which is why it is the product that muddles the categories. See full spectrum vs far infrared.

The research does not transfer

This is the point that matters most and gets ignored most.

Sauna research is largely about heat: raising core temperature, cardiovascular responses, and long-term observational studies of habitual sauna use. Red light research is about specific wavelengths at specific doses delivered to tissue, and it concerns skin, wound healing and localized musculoskeletal outcomes.

Citing a sauna study to support a red light panel, or vice versa, is a category error — and it happens constantly in marketing for both. We keep the two separate: sauna benefits and red light therapy evidence cite different literatures because they are different literatures.

Which should you buy?

They are not substitutes, so the honest answer depends on what you want:

  • You want to sweat, sit in heat, and have a ritual. Sauna. A panel does none of that.
  • You want specific wavelengths on skin or a specific area. Panel. A sauna does not deliver a controlled dose to a target.
  • You have no space and no circuit. Panel, easily — it plugs into a normal outlet and hangs on a door.
  • You want both and have the budget: a far-infrared cabin plus a standalone panel is usually cheaper than a full-spectrum cabin and gives you control over the panel's distance.

Running cost, briefly

A panel is trivially cheap to run — tens to hundreds of watts for a session measured in minutes. A sauna is more, though still modest: a 2,240 W cabin for 45 minutes is about $0.29 at $0.17/kWh at the upper bound.

Neither cost should decide this. The real difference is upfront and installation: a panel plugs into a wall, and a sauna may need an electrician. That is the number that matters. See sauna running costs.

Can you use both together?

Yes, and plenty of people do — a panel before or after a sauna session. What we would not do is put a panel inside a hot cabin: most panels are not specified for sustained operation at sauna temperatures and manufacturers rarely publish an operating range. Using it outside the cabin avoids the question entirely.

One of each, if you want both

Top pick · Wavelength coverage

Full-Body Red Light Therapy Panel, 5 Wavelengths, 120 Dual-Chip LEDs

Generic Amazon listing

$539.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Five wavelengths across 120 dual-chip diodes, with a published wattage. Dual chip means every LED emits more than one wavelength, so coverage is even rather than striped.

Published specifications
LEDs120, dual chip
Wavelengths5, per the listing
Power200 W
Board sizeNot published in the listing
StandNot published in the listing
IrradianceNot published at a stated distance

What works

  • A published wattage and LED count
  • Dual-chip diodes, so both main wavelengths come from every LED
  • More wavelengths than the two-wavelength boards at this size

What doesn't

  • No published board dimensions
  • No irradiance figure at any distance
  • Extra wavelengths have a thinner research base than 660 and 850 nm

Skip it ifyou want the largest treated area per dollar. Wavelength count is not coverage.

#2 · Three-person cabins

Dynamic Lugano 3-Person Far Infrared Sauna

Dynamic Saunas

$2,499.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

One of the few cabins in this price class that puts an EMF number in the listing rather than the word 'low' on its own — which is the only reason it can be ranked against anything.

Published specifications
Capacity3 person
WoodCanadian hemlock
Heater typeCarbon far-infrared panels
EMF, as publishedUnder 8 mG
Measurement distanceNot published
SpectrumFar infrared only
Power drawNot published in the listing

What works

  • Publishes an actual EMF figure instead of the unqualified word 'low'
  • Hemlock rather than a softwood that resins at temperature
  • Three-person footprint without the premium-tier price

What doesn't

  • The EMF figure has no stated measurement distance, so it cannot be compared like for like
  • Far infrared only — no near or mid wavelengths
  • Assembly is genuinely a two-person job

Skip it ifyou want full-spectrum output. This is a far-infrared cabin and no amount of marketing language changes that — if near infrared matters to you, you are shopping in a different tier.

#3 · One panel that covers a body

Supersred Red Light Therapy Panel, 1,500 W Dual-Chip Board

Supersred

$476.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Dual-chip diodes, so both wavelengths come from every LED rather than alternating across the board. The listing publishes a wattage and the wavelengths and nothing else — no board size, no irradiance.

Published specifications
Power, per the listing1,500 W lamp board
Wavelengths660 nm and 850 nm, dual chip
Board sizeNot published in the listing
LED countNot published in the listing
EMFNot published
IrradianceNot published at a stated distance

What works

  • Dual-chip LEDs, so coverage is even rather than striped
  • A stated wattage, which most panels at this price omit
  • Both research-backed wavelengths in one board

What doesn't

  • No published board dimensions, so coverage cannot be checked before it arrives
  • No irradiance figure at any distance
  • A lamp wattage is not the same as delivered output

Skip it ifyou need to know the treated area before buying. This listing will not tell you how big the board is.

Questions people actually ask

What is the difference between red light therapy and an infrared sauna?
An infrared sauna is a heating device — far infrared warms your body and you sweat. A red light panel is a light-delivery device — red and near-infrared wavelengths reach whatever skin faces it, and you do not sweat. They share the word 'infrared' and very little else.
Is an infrared sauna the same as red light therapy?
No. Conventional infrared saunas emit far infrared, which heats. Red light panels emit red and near infrared, which is where the photobiomodulation research sits. Full-spectrum saunas emit both, which is why that product blurs the categories — and why the wiring for it is heavier.
Which is better, red light therapy or an infrared sauna?
They are not substitutes, so neither is better in general. If you want heat, sweating and a ritual, a sauna does that and a panel cannot. If you want specific wavelengths delivered to a specific area, a panel does that and a sauna cannot. The research bases are different too and do not transfer between them.
Can you use a red light panel in a sauna?
Most panels are not specified for sustained operation at sauna temperatures, and manufacturers rarely publish an operating range — so it is outside stated use unless the manufacturer says otherwise. Using the panel before or after the session, outside the cabin, gets you both without the question.
Do I need both a sauna and a red light panel?
Only if you want what each does. If you want both, a far-infrared cabin plus a standalone panel usually costs less than a full-spectrum cabin and gives you control over the panel's distance — which is the variable that determines light dose and the one a built-in tube fixes for you.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.