Finnmark sauna review
Finnmark Designs builds cedar infrared saunas that pair two kinds of heater and, it says, reach 170 °F on an ordinary outlet — plus Trinity models that add a Harvia stove. The specifications are published in full; EMF figures and the complete warranty text are not.

The short version: Finnmark sells three infrared cabins — the one-person FD-KN001, the two-person FD-2 Hybrid 2.0 and the three-to-four-person FD-3 — plus two Trinity combination saunas that add a Harvia stove, and an outdoor Trinity. Every cabin is clear-grade Western Red Cedar inside, and each pairs Finnmark's short-wave Spectrum Plus heaters with long-wave carbon panels. The one- and two-person cabins plug into a standard 120 V, 15 A outlet; the FD-3 needs 240 V. Finnmark states a 170 °F maximum and a ten-year warranty on the sauna, with a lifetime term on its Spectrum Plus heaters.
The range, as Finnmark publishes it
| FD-KN001 | FD-2 Hybrid 2.0 | FD-3 | Trinity FD-4 | Trinity XL | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seats | 1 | 2 | 3–4 | 2 | 3–4 |
| Infrared | 1,450 W | 1,750 W | 3,150 W | 1,750 W | 3,150 W |
| Stove | None | None | None | Harvia Vega Compact, 1.9 kW | Harvia KIP45B, 4.5 kW |
| Electrical | 120 V, 15 A, NEMA 5-15P | 120 V, 15 A, NEMA 5-15P | 240 V, 15 A, NEMA 6-15P | Infrared 120 V, 15 A; stove 120 V, 15.9 A | Infrared 240 V, 15 A; stove 240 V, 18.8 A |
| Outside (W × D × H) | 37 × 37.8 × 78.3 in | 48 × 43.5 × 78.3 in | 70.9 × 45.3 × 78.3 in | 48.8 × 48.8 × 83.1 in | 74.8 × 63.8 × 83.1 in |
| Inside (W × D × H) | 33.3 × 34.1 × 70.5 in | 44.3 × 39.8 × 70.5 in | 67.2 × 41.6 × 70.5 in | 44.5 × 45.1 × 75.2 in | 70.5 × 60.1 × 75.2 in |
| Stated maximum | 170 °F | 170 °F | 170 °F | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page |
From Finnmark Designs' product pages, read on 2026-09-21. Model names are as the pages give them; the two-person page lists model FD-2 with SKU FD-KN002, and the Trinity page model FD-4 with SKU FD-KN005.
Two kinds of infrared heater
Finnmark's pitch is the mix. Every cabin has Spectrum Plus panels — which it describes as UL-listed, dual-wave (far and mid) short-wave heaters with Incoloy elements — on the back wall and under the bench, and on the two-person and larger models on the front wall too, alongside long-wave Spectrum Carbon 360 panels on the sidewalls. The FD-KN001 lists two Spectrum Plus panels on the back wall and one under the bench; the FD-3 lists four on the back wall, one under the bench and two on the front wall. Finnmark says the short-wave heaters deliver up to 25 times more than standard carbon panels, a comparison it does not define. Our carbon vs ceramic heaters and full-spectrum vs far-infrared pages explain what the heater types actually change.
170 °F on a household plug
Finnmark says its full-spectrum cabins reach 170 °F in under an hour, and it states 170 °F as the maximum on the one-, two- and three-to-four-person pages. That is higher than the 140 °F that Lifepro's RejuvaCure and several other cabins we cover publish — and it is Finnmark's figure, not one we have seen measured independently. The FD-KN001 and FD-2 run from a standard 120 V, 15 A outlet with a NEMA 5-15P plug; the FD-3 needs a 240 V, 15 A outlet with a NEMA 6-15P plug. Finnmark says its saunas are engineered to plug straight into an outlet, and recommends replacing a builder-grade receptacle with a commercial-grade, high-current one. Our sauna temperature guide covers what those numbers mean in practice.
The Trinity: infrared plus a Harvia stove
The Trinity models are what set Finnmark apart from most infrared makers. The two-person Trinity FD-4 pairs 1,750 W of infrared with a 1.9 kW Harvia Vega Compact stove on the front wall, so you can pour water on the rocks for steam; the Trinity XL pairs 3,150 W of infrared with a 4.5 kW Harvia KIP45B and a two-tier bench. Plan the electrical for both loads. Finnmark lists the FD-4's infrared at 120 V and 15 A and its stove at 120 V and 15.9 A — more than a 15 A circuit is rated for — and the XL's infrared at 240 V and 15 A with its stove at 240 V and 18.8 A. Ask Finnmark which circuits it expects before you order. Our infrared vs traditional page covers what each kind of heat is like, and Harvia vs HUUM the stove makers.
Finnmark also lists an outdoor Trinity that it describes as combining infrared, steam and red light, engineered for weather. Its page is inconsistent: the description names a HUUM Steel 6 kW heater and model FD-9, while the specification block lists a 1.9 kW Harvia Vega Pro and model FD-4. Confirm which heater and model you would receive before you order.
Cedar inside, aspen outside
Every cabin is clear "A"-grade Canadian Western Red Cedar inside, with what Finnmark calls a Thermal Plus aspen exterior — European aspen on the one-person model, Canadian aspen on the rest — and the Trinity models add fully insulated walls. Finnmark argues that cedar resists mold and that its aspen exterior will not rot or warp; those are the brand's claims. Its care advice is specific and worth following: clean inside with water and a sponge, remove sweat stains with a light sand using 220-grit paper, never use chemicals inside — including on the glass — and protect the exterior with beeswax, avoiding treatments with benzene or a high concentration of alcohol. Our cedar vs hemlock vs spruce page covers the wood choice.
The warranty
- The sauna: ten years, which Finnmark contrasts with brands whose "lifetime" warranty it says is treated as seven years in the US.
- Spectrum Plus heaters: an "unconditional lifetime warranty", per Finnmark, which also gives estimated operating lives of 40,000 hours for those heaters and 30,000 hours for its carbon 360 panels.
- Harvia stoves in the Trinity models: two years, as the Trinity pages state.
- The full terms — coverage, labor, shipping and exclusions — are in a downloadable document that the warranty page summarizes, and we did not read it. Ask for it before you buy, and compare it with sauna and cold plunge warranties compared.
Buying, delivery and returns
Finnmark sells direct and through dealers. Saunas ship by LTL freight within the contiguous United States as several boxes on one pallet, with residential liftgate service and a scheduled appointment; Finnmark asks you to confirm a date with the carrier's dispatcher within three business days, and to write "damaged" on the bill of lading before the driver leaves if any box is visibly damaged. Because the cabins are modular, it says transit damage is usually fixed with a replacement panel or touch-up kit rather than a return. Returns are accepted within 30 business days of receipt with a return authorization, in new or like-new condition and the original packaging, and the customer pays return shipping; an order canceled before it ships is refunded in full.
What is not published
- EMF figures — no measurements on the product, comparison or warranty pages we read.
- Weights, for any model.
- Independent confirmation of 170 °F in under an hour.
- The circuits the Trinity stoves expect, beyond their voltage and amperage.
- A consistent specification for the outdoor Trinity's heater and model number.
- The complete warranty, which sits in a download rather than on the page.
Who it suits
- Buyers who want infrared that runs hot, with a stated 170 °F and two heater types in every cabin.
- Anyone torn between infrared and a stove, for whom the Trinity puts both in one cedar room.
- Small spaces on a household plug, with the 37-inch-wide FD-KN001 or the 48-inch-wide FD-2 on 120 V.
Alternatives you can buy today
Finnmark does not sell through Amazon. The picks below are the closest matches there: SalusHEAT's two-person cabin in solid red cedar, at the same 1,750 W as the FD-2; a one-person cabin with 1,170 W across seven carbon panels and a 660/850 nm red light; a three-person full-spectrum cabin at 3,600 W on 220 V, nearer the FD-3; and a two-person red cedar traditional sauna with a 6 kW Harvia, for the stove half of a Trinity. None is a Finnmark product, and none pairs infrared with a stove in one cabin.
Cedar and full-spectrum saunas on Amazon
SalusHEAT 2-Person Low-EMF Far Infrared Sauna, Red Cedar
SalusHEAT
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Solid red cedar and heaters on the door and lower walls for calves and feet — the parts of you most infrared cabins leave cold.
| EMF, as published | 0–5 mG; no measurement distance given |
|---|---|
| Power | 1,750 W |
| Heating | Panels on the front door, side walls and lower calf and foot zones |
| Wood | 100% solid red cedar |
| Dimensions | 47.24" × 39.37" × 75.67" |
| Weight | 283 lb |
What works
- Genuine solid red cedar, stated as such
- Heating that reaches calves and feet
- A two-person cabin at 1,750 W
What doesn't
- A 0–5 mG range is wide and has no distance
- 1,750 W is close to a 15 A circuit's rating — give it its own circuit
- Cedar's aroma is strong for some people
Skip it ifyou are sensitive to aromatic woods. Solid red cedar is the point of this cabin.
CedarLuma 1-Person Infrared Sauna with 660/850 nm Red Light
CedarLuma
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Publishes an EMF range rather than the word "low", and a realistic warm-up time — up to 149 °F in 45 to 50 minutes — which almost no one does.
| EMF, as published | 1.4–2.6 mG; no measurement distance given |
|---|---|
| Power | 1,170 W |
| Heaters | 7 carbon fiber panels |
| Warm-up | Up to 149 °F in 45–50 minutes, per the listing |
| Wood | Solid Canadian hemlock |
| Dimensions | 31.5" × 31.5" × 63.3" |
| Weight | 188 lb |
What works
- A numeric EMF range, not just a claim
- An honest warm-up time
- Standard-outlet power for a one-person cabin
What doesn't
- No distance for the EMF figure, so it cannot be compared precisely
- "FDA-certified" red light is the seller's description; we have not verified it
- One person only
Skip it ifyou need to compare EMF figures like for like. Without a distance, no Amazon listing here can be.
Duthss 3-Person Full-Spectrum Infrared Sauna
Duthss
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Full spectrum at this size means a 220 V circuit, and the listing says so instead of burying it. That single line is worth more than the whole feature list.
| Capacity | 3 person |
|---|---|
| Power draw | 3,600 W |
| Voltage | 220 V |
| Interior | 60" W × 41" D × 75" H |
| Heaters | 4 carbon panels plus 4 red-light tubes |
| Wood | Hemlock |
| Extras | Foot heating, insulated glass |
What works
- Publishes interior dimensions, not just the outside box
- Foot heating addresses the most common complaint about infrared cabins
- The 220 V requirement is stated openly rather than discovered on delivery day
What doesn't
- 220 V means an electrician, a permit in most jurisdictions and a real install cost
- No EMF figure published
- 3,600 W is expensive to run — check the arithmetic before you commit
Skip it ifyou are not prepared to add a 220 V circuit. Budget the electrical work before the cabin, because on this unit the wiring is not optional.
Canadian Red Cedar 2-Person Traditional Sauna, 6 kW Harvia
MCP Distributions
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A real Harvia heater inside a cedar room, sold as one box. If you have been running an infrared cabin and want actual loyly, this is the shortest path to it.
| Capacity | 2 person |
|---|---|
| Type | Traditional, wet or dry |
| Wood | Canadian red cedar |
| Heater | 6 kW Harvia |
| Circuit | 240 V — required for a 6 kW heater |
| Extras | Built-in sound system |
| Stones | Included |
What works
- Harvia is a heater brand with a published spec sheet and a real parts supply
- Cedar rather than hemlock — better rot resistance where humidity is high
- Wet or dry, so you can actually throw water
What doesn't
- 6 kW needs a dedicated 240 V circuit and a permit in most places
- Cedar costs more and the price reflects it
- A two-person footprint with a stove in it is tight
Skip it ifyou cannot run 240 V. Every traditional heater above roughly 4.5 kW needs it, and there is no workaround worth attempting.
Our honest position
Finnmark publishes more hard specification than most infrared makers — wattage, amperage, plug type, heater placement, interior and exterior dimensions — and it is one of the few to build a true infrared-and-stove combination. What it does not put on the page is EMF data, weights or the full warranty text, and its 170 °F claim is its own. We have not used one and earn nothing from the brand. Sun Home and Heavenly Heat are the other direct-sold makers we cover, and the best full-spectrum infrared saunas is the field you can buy on Amazon.
Questions people actually ask
Are Finnmark saunas sold on Amazon?
How hot does a Finnmark sauna get?
Do Finnmark saunas need a dedicated circuit?
What warranty does Finnmark offer?
Sources
- Finnmark Designs — compare saunas — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — 1 Person Full Spectrum Infrared Sauna (FD-KN001) — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — 2 Person Hybrid 2.0 Full Spectrum Infrared Sauna (FD-2) — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — 3–4 Person Full Spectrum Infrared Sauna (FD-3) — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — Trinity combination sauna (FD-4) — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — Trinity XL combination sauna — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — outdoor Trinity combination sauna — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — infrared sauna warranty — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Finnmark Designs — shipping and return policy — checked Sep 21, 2026
- Amazon.com — search results for Finnmark sauna — checked Sep 21, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.