Sun Home Cold Plunge Pro vs Horizontal
One is a 400-lb integrated tub that makes its own ice at 28 °F. The other is an inflatable tub and a standalone chiller that cools to 32 °F, heats to 107 °F and packs into a carrying case. Both plug into an ordinary outlet.

The short version: the Cold Plunge Pro is a permanent, integrated plunge — 150 gallons, an automatic ice-making chiller to 28 °F, ozone and UV sanitation, 400 lb empty. The Horizontal is portable — an inflatable tub of roughly 80 to 90 gallons with a standalone chiller that cools to 32 °F and heats to 107 °F, a 15.5-lb tub and an 88-lb chiller. Both run on a standard outlet and both carry a one-year residential limited warranty. The Pro is the plunge you install; the Horizontal is the one you can move.
Side by side
| Cold Plunge Pro | Cold Plunge Horizontal | |
|---|---|---|
| Build | Integrated tub and chiller | Inflatable tub, standalone chiller |
| Water | 150 gal | Roughly 80–90 gal |
| Temperature | Down to 28 °F, with automatic ice-making | 32–107 °F — cools and heats |
| Sanitation | Ozone, UV and dual-pump filtration | Metal mesh filter, 20-micron paper filter, ozone |
| Electrical | Dedicated 120 V, 15 A GFCI circuit, NEMA 5-15 plug | Standard 110–120 V GFCI outlet on a 15 A breaker |
| Weight | 400 lb empty | Tub 15.5 lb; chiller 88 lb |
| Outside (L × W × H) | 78.7 × 33.5 × 34.2 in | Not stated on the page we read |
| Placement | Level, structurally sound surface with drainage nearby; 12 in at the sides, 36 in at the front | Flat surface rated for the filled weight; 36 in of airflow; chiller at least 40 in from the tub or a wall |
| Included | Insulated lid | Insulated cover, carrying case, repair kit for tears up to 10 × 20 cm |
| Warranty | 1 year, residential limited | 1 year, residential limited |
Figures from Sun Home's Cold Plunge Pro and Cold Plunge Horizontal and Vertical product pages and its warranty page, read on 2026-09-11. Sun Home's Vertical uses the same chiller in an upright tub.
Cold: 28 °F and ice, or 32 °F and heat
The Pro's integrated chiller cycles on its own — cool, make ice, defrost, repeat — down to 28 °F. The Horizontal's standalone chiller covers 32 to 107 °F, so the same tub can be a cold plunge in the morning and a warm soak at night. If you use a heat mode, the US Consumer Product Safety Commission's hot tub guidance is to stay at or below 104 °F, which our cold plunge vs hot tub page explains. Both are far colder than the roughly 50–59 °F most cold-water studies used, which our temperature guide covers.
Setup and space
The Pro is furniture: a level, structurally sound surface with drainage nearby, 12 inches of airflow at the sides and 36 at the front, and 150 gallons of water — roughly 1,250 lb at about 8.3 lb per gallon — on top of its own 400 lb. The Horizontal asks for a flat surface rated for the filled weight, 36 inches of airflow and a chiller placed at least 40 inches from the tub or any wall, fan facing away. Sun Home also says to let the chiller stand upright, unplugged, for four hours before first use, that it needs ambient air above 40 °F to run, and that it should sit at least five feet from other appliances. Indoors or out, the Horizontal can be packed away; the Pro stays where you put it. A step helps with either rim — see the best cold plunge steps.
Upkeep
- The Pro: ozone, UV and filtration run between sessions. Keep the insulated lid on, leave the jets running above 37 °F, swap the filter at least monthly — every two weeks with daily use — and keep the chiller's sides clear.
- The Horizontal: circulate for 30 minutes after a plunge, then switch the chiller off and cover the tub. Rinse the metal filter weekly, change the paper filter every two weeks to two months or when flow drops below 17 liters a minute, and change the water every two to three weeks.
- Winter, for the Horizontal: Sun Home says to drain the tub and flush the chiller if it will sit unused for more than three weeks, and never to leave water in the chiller through freezing weather.
The warranty is the same
Sun Home's warranty page lists a one-year residential limited warranty for the Cold Plunge Pro and for its portable Cold Plunge, against manufacturing defects, with extended warranties sold separately. Its general terms include parts, labor and shipping for the first 90 days from delivery. Sauna and cold plunge warranties compared sets that against other plunge makers — BlueCube, for instance, gives three years of parts and labor.
Which to choose
- The Pro, if you want ice-cold water below freezing, built-in UV as well as ozone, 150 gallons and a plunge that stays put.
- The Horizontal, if you want to move or store the plunge, use it as a warm soak too, or start with a lighter setup — and 32 °F is cold enough.
Alternatives you can buy today
Neither sells through Amazon. The picks below cover both routes — two integrated all-in-one plunges, an inflatable tub sold with a half-horsepower chiller, a reclining inflatable tub that is chiller-ready, and a one-horsepower hot-and-cold chiller for a tub you already own. They are not Sun Home products, and none publishes a minimum below 34 °F. Our cold plunges with chillers roundup compares more of them.
Integrated and portable plunges on Amazon
Duthss 1-Person All-in-One Cold Plunge, 1 HP Chiller, 400 L
Duthss
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Chiller, circulation and filtration built into a one-piece insulated shell — no external hoses — which is the design premium integrated plunges sell.
| Capacity | 400 L (about 106 gallons) |
|---|---|
| Shell | One-piece molded PE with PU insulation |
| Chiller | Built-in 1 HP, up to 2,100 W cooling output |
| Temperature range | About 37.4–104 °F |
| Dimensions | 60" × 30.5" × 26" |
| Supply | 110 V |
What works
- No exposed hoses or fittings to leak
- Seamless molded shell
- Heats as well as cools
What doesn't
- If the chiller fails, the plunge is out of service
- One-person interior
- Power draw not published separately
Skip it ifyou want to replace the chiller independently of the tub.
ICEGALAX IGT-V5 All-in-One Cold Plunge, Acrylic, 1 HP, 34–104 °F
ICEGALAX
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
An acrylic tub with the chiller, pump, filtration and a surface skimmer built in, and the widest published range here — 34 to 104 °F.
| Tub | Acrylic |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 300 L (about 79 gal) |
| Outside | 76.77 L × 31.5 W × 27.95 H in |
| Weight | 245 lb |
| Chiller | Integrated 1 HP, with circulation pump and dual-stage filtration |
| Temperature range | 34–104 °F, per the title |
| Water care | Built-in surface skimmer |
| Monitoring | 7 sensors, app control |
| Fit | Users up to 6 ft 9 in, per the listing |
| Warranty, per the listing | 1 year |
What works
- Everything integrated, nothing to plumb
- 34 °F at the cold end
- A surface skimmer as well as filters
What doesn't
- Acrylic shell, not stainless
- One-year warranty
- Supply voltage is not stated in the listing
Skip it ifyou want a stainless steel tub.
EONIX 152-Gallon Inflatable Cold Plunge with 1/2 HP Chiller
EONIX
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A large inflatable tub and a 1/2 HP chiller with a filter, sold as one kit with the pump and hoses.
| Tub | 152 gallons, inflatable |
|---|---|
| Chiller | 1/2 HP with a built-in filter |
| Included | Pump and hoses |
| Chiller size | 13.6 × 13.6 × 19.5 in |
| Shipping | Chiller and tub ship separately |
What works
- A complete kit
- Built-in filter
- Foldable tub
What doesn't
- Minimum temperature not stated in the listing
- 1/2 HP for 152 gallons leaves less headroom than 1 HP
- The two parts may arrive on different days
Skip it ifyou need a stated minimum temperature before you buy. Ask the seller.
BEYOND MARINA Slanted-Edge Inflatable Cold Plunge Tub, 155 Gallon
BEYOND MARINA
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A drop-stitch tub with a slanted back, so you sit with your legs out rather than crouched — rated for users up to 6 ft 7 in.
| Size | 61 × 31.5 × 24.8 in |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 155 gallons (586 L) |
| Construction | Double-layer drop stitch |
| Fit | Up to 6 ft 7 in and 300 lb, per the listing |
| Chiller | Ready — 1/2 in NPT ports |
| Included | High-pressure pump, ground sheet, child safety lock |
What works
- A slanted back for a reclined position
- Height limit published
- Chiller ports
What doesn't
- No chiller included
- The listing's health claims are the seller's own
- Inflatable — a shorter life than a rigid tub
Skip it ifyou want everything in one box. You will need to add a chiller or ice.
QAUSOU 1 HP Cold Plunge Chiller and Heater, 37–107 °F
QAUSOU
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Publishes both ends of its temperature range, its refrigerant, its dimensions and a flow threshold for the filter alarm — the most complete specification in this category by a distance.
| Cooling capacity | 1 HP |
|---|---|
| Temperature range | 37.4 °F to 107.6 °F |
| Refrigerant | R410A |
| Filtration | 3-stage, dual stainless cartridges |
| Control | Wi-Fi, LED panel, smart timer |
| Dimensions | 16.7" D × 22.8" W × 20.8" H |
| Maintenance alert | Warns below 14 L/min flow |
| Power draw | Not published |
What works
- Both ends of the temperature range published, which is the whole point of a dual-mode unit
- A flow-rate alarm threshold is an unusually specific and genuinely useful spec
- Filtration built in, so the loop is one box rather than three
What doesn't
- Measured power draw is still not published, so running cost is not knowable from the listing
- The 107 °F ceiling is a limit, not a working temperature — expect a long climb
- 1 HP is more capacity than a small indoor tub needs
Skip it ifyour tub is small and indoors. A 1 HP compressor on 60 gallons in a basement will short-cycle rather than run efficiently.
Our honest position
These are two different ideas of a plunge from the same brand, on the same warranty. The Pro is the colder, larger, permanent one; the Horizontal is the flexible one that also heats. We earn nothing from either. Our Cold Plunge Pro review and Vertical and Horizontal review go further into each, and inflatable vs rigid covers the format question.
Questions people actually ask
What is the difference between the Sun Home Cold Plunge Pro and Horizontal?
Can the Sun Home Horizontal cold plunge heat water?
Do Sun Home cold plunges need special wiring?
What warranty do Sun Home cold plunges have?
Sources
- Sun Home Saunas — Cold Plunge Pro product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Cold Plunge Horizontal product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — Cold Plunge Vertical product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Sun Home Saunas — warranty information — checked Sep 11, 2026
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission — hot tub temperature warning — checked Sep 11, 2026
- NIST Chemistry WebBook — properties of water, for the weight figure — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — inflatable cold plunge listings, for the alternatives — checked Sep 11, 2026
Read next
- Sun Home Cold Plunge Pro reviewThe Pro on its own.Read it
- Sun Home Vertical and Horizontal reviewThe portable plunges in full.Read it
- Sun Home Pro vs Apex vs Titan XLThe integrated range.Read it
- Inflatable vs rigid cold plungeThe format question.Read it
- Best inflatable cold plungesThe portable field.Read it
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.