The best EMF meters for testing a sauna
Every infrared sauna brand publishes a low-EMF figure in milligauss. Almost none publishes the frequency band, the distance or the meter. One of these instruments lets you check the number yourself.

The verdict: buy the TriField TF2 if you want one meter that will tell you about the sauna and the rest of the house, with three-axis magnetic sensing and a body-weighted mode that corresponds to how most published sauna figures are framed. Buy the TENMARS TM-192 if you only care about the sauna and want the best single measurement: it is the only instrument here that publishes its frequency response (30-2000 Hz) alongside its ranges (20/200/2000 mG), which is what makes a milligauss reading comparable to a brand's claim. Buy the LATNEX AF-5000 if you need to show someone your numbers — it is the only one that ships with a dated per-unit calibration certificate.
The picks at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Key spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TriField TF2 EMF Meter, 3-Axis Magnetic with Weighted ModeThree-axis magnetic sensing with a body-weighted frequency response, built and serviced by AlphaLab in the United States. If you want to repeat the mG figures sauna brands publish, this is the meter that produces comparable readings. | The instrument sauna EMF numbers are usually quoted from | 3-axis magnetic, weighted and standard frequency response, RF 20 MHz-6 GHz, made in USA | |
| 2 | TENMARS TM-192 3-Axis ELF Magnetic Field Meter, 30-2000 HzOne job, done with published numbers: triple-axis magnetic field, 30 to 2000 Hz, in three mG ranges. That is exactly the measurement a low-EMF sauna claim is making, and nothing else here states its frequency response. | A dedicated ELF gaussmeter with published ranges | Triple axis, 30-2000 Hz, 20/200/2000 mG and 2/20/200 microtesla ranges, USB | |
| 3 | LATNEX AF-5000 EMF Meter with Calibration CertificateThe only meter here that ships with its own dated certificate of calibration, tested to published specifications under ISO 9001. If you intend to quote your readings to anyone, that piece of paper is the difference. | A dated calibration certificate in the box | 3-axis gauss, electric to 2000 V/m at 50/60 Hz, RF to 10 GHz, ISO 9001 calibration certificate | $160.99 · View on Amazon $189.99 · 15% off |
| 4 | GQ EMF-390 Multi-Field Meter with Data LoggerA data logger and an RF spectrum analyzer in a handheld body. The logger is the feature worth paying for in a sauna: it records the whole session, where a handheld reading only catches the moment you looked. | Logging a whole session rather than reading a peak | EMF, ELF and RF to 10 GHz, data logger, 2.5 GHz spectrum analyzer | $95.84 · View on Amazon $119.80 · 20% off |
| 5 | KAIWEETS 3-in-1 Handheld EMF Meter with Trend GraphThe only budget meter here that publishes its ranges and says the sensor is three axis. The listing also admits it is not lab-grade, which is the most useful sentence in it. | Published ranges at the cheapest price here | 0.1-2000 mG magnetic, 1-2000 V/m electric, 0.001-200 mW/m2 RF, 3-axis sensor | $39.99 · View on Amazon $49.99 · 20% off |
| 6 | ERICKHILL 3-in-1 Rechargeable EMF MeterThree fields, rechargeable, with average, peak and maximum capture on a backlit screen. Enough to compare one spot in a cabin against another, which is most of what a buyer actually wants. | A rechargeable three-field meter under $70 | Electric, magnetic and RF to 10 GHz; average, peak and max; rechargeable | $63.99 · View on Amazon $79.99 · 20% off |
#ad Amazon links are affiliate links. Tap any row to jump to that product's full write-up. Prices are Amazon's own, as of October 7, 2026; confirm the current price on Amazon.
Why a sauna EMF claim needs a meter to mean anything
A heating element is a resistive load on a 60 Hz circuit, and the magnetic field around it is an extremely-low-frequency field measured in milligauss. That is the number brands quote, and it is the one number a buyer can actually verify. The problem is that a magnetic field reading changes with distance, orientation and what else is drawing current, and a published figure with none of those stated is not a measurement anybody can repeat. Our what is low EMF? page covers why the term has no standard behind it, and low EMF sauna comparison sets out which brands publish a figure at all and what each one leaves out.
The picks side by side
| Magnetic axes | Frequency response | Published mG range | Calibration cert | Other fields | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TriField TF2 | 3 | Not published; weighted and standard modes | Not published | No | Electric (1 axis), RF 20 MHz-6 GHz |
| TENMARS TM-192 | 3 | 30-2000 Hz | 20 / 200 / 2000 mG | No | None |
| LATNEX AF-5000 | 3 | Not published | Not published | Yes, dated, per unit | Electric to 2000 V/m, RF to 10 GHz |
| GQ EMF-390 | Not published | Not published | Not published | No | ELF, RF to 10 GHz, logger, analyzer |
| KAIWEETS | 3 | Not published | 0.1-2000 mG | No | Electric 1-2000 V/m, RF |
| ERICKHILL | Not published | Not published | Not published | No | Electric, RF to 10 GHz |
From each Amazon listing and manufacturer page, read on 2026-10-07. Blank fields are absent from the published specification, not omitted here.
Who each pick is for
- TriField TF2 — one meter for the house and the cabin. Three-axis magnetic plus a weighted mode, made and serviced by AlphaLab in the US, and they answer the phone about readings. Skip it if you only want the sauna number: it costs more than a dedicated gaussmeter and publishes fewer ranges.
- TENMARS TM-192 — the best sauna measurement. Triple axis, 30-2000 Hz, three mG ranges down to 20 mG full scale. Skip it if you also want to check Wi-Fi and the smart meter: it measures magnetic field and nothing else.
- LATNEX AF-5000 — a number you can defend. Dated calibration certificate per unit under ISO 9001, three-axis gauss, two-year warranty. Skip it if you need the magnetic frequency band stated; the listing does not give it.
- GQ EMF-390 — log a whole session. The data logger is the real feature: a heater cycling on and off becomes a curve instead of a reading you happened to catch. Skip it if you want one defensible figure, since the axis count is unpublished.
- KAIWEETS — published ranges, cheapest. All three ranges stated, three-axis sensor, trend graph, and the listing admits it is not lab-grade. Skip it if you will be quoting the number to a manufacturer.
- ERICKHILL — three fields, rechargeable, cheap. Captures average, peak and maximum, which is what you want next to an element. Skip it if you want to compare against a brand's published mG figure: with no ranges or frequency response stated, it is a different measurement.
The picks in full
TriField TF2 EMF Meter, 3-Axis Magnetic with Weighted Mode
TriField
#ad Price as of October 7, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Three-axis magnetic sensing with a body-weighted frequency response, built and serviced by AlphaLab in the United States. If you want to repeat the mG figures sauna brands publish, this is the meter that produces comparable readings.
| Magnetic field | 3-axis |
|---|---|
| Electric field | Single axis, standard or weighted frequency response |
| RF | Single axis, unweighted, 20 MHz-6 GHz |
| Weighted mode | Emphasizes effects on the human body, per the manufacturer |
| Refresh | Bars update instantly; RF and averages 4 times per second |
| 5G | Covers most 5G; not experimental millimeter wave |
| Power | 9 V battery, included |
| Support | Made and serviced in the USA; 1-year limited warranty; free consulting |
What works
- 3-axis magnetic sensing, so the reading does not depend on how you hold it
- Weighted mode is the setting most published sauna EMF figures correspond to
- AlphaLab answers the phone about readings, which matters more than any spec here
What doesn't
- Electric field and RF are single axis, so orientation affects those readings
- Analog-feel bar display takes practice to read consistently
- Does not detect radioactivity, despite what the category suggests
Skip it ifyou only want a number for the sauna. A dedicated ELF gaussmeter costs less and measures the one field that matters in a cabin.
TENMARS TM-192 3-Axis ELF Magnetic Field Meter, 30-2000 Hz
TENMARS
#ad Price as of October 7, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
One job, done with published numbers: triple-axis magnetic field, 30 to 2000 Hz, in three mG ranges. That is exactly the measurement a low-EMF sauna claim is making, and nothing else here states its frequency response.
| Sensor | Triple axis, X, Y and Z |
|---|---|
| Frequency response | 30 Hz to 2000 Hz |
| Ranges | 20 / 200 / 2000 mG and 2 / 20 / 200 microtesla |
| Auto range | Yes |
| Auto power | Yes |
| Data hold | Yes |
| Output | USB |
| Electric field and RF | Not measured; magnetic field only |
What works
- Publishes the frequency response, which is the spec that makes a mG reading meaningful
- Three ranges down to 20 mG full scale, so low readings have real resolution
- USB output for logging a session rather than reading a number off a screen
What doesn't
- Magnetic field only: no electric field, no RF
- The most expensive meter here while measuring the fewest things
- No calibration certificate stated
Skip it ifyou also want to check the Wi-Fi and the smart meter in the house. This measures one field well and nothing else at all.
LATNEX AF-5000 EMF Meter with Calibration Certificate
LATNEX
$189.99 · 15% off
#ad Price as of October 7, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
The only meter here that ships with its own dated certificate of calibration, tested to published specifications under ISO 9001. If you intend to quote your readings to anyone, that piece of paper is the difference.
| Magnetic field | 3-axis gauss or tesla |
|---|---|
| Electric field | To 2000 V/m at 50/60 Hz |
| RF | To 10 GHz, including 5G |
| Calibration | Individually tested; dated certificate per unit, ISO 9001:2015 |
| Warranty | 2 years |
| Support | Direct phone and email technical support |
| Stated caveat | Readings vary with distance, angle and nearby electronics |
| Frequency range for magnetic field | Not published in the listing |
What works
- A dated per-unit calibration certificate, which nothing else in this price band offers
- 3-axis magnetic sensing plus a stated electric field ceiling
- The listing warns you that distance and angle change readings, which is honest and true
What doesn't
- Does not publish the frequency range of its magnetic sensor
- Not designed for static or high-voltage industrial fields
- Three functions in one body means compromises against a dedicated gaussmeter
Skip it ifyou need the magnetic frequency range stated. A sauna heater element is a 60 Hz source and you want a meter that names its band.
GQ EMF-390 Multi-Field Meter with Data Logger
GQ Electronics
$119.80 · 20% off
#ad Price as of October 7, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A data logger and an RF spectrum analyzer in a handheld body. The logger is the feature worth paying for in a sauna: it records the whole session, where a handheld reading only catches the moment you looked.
| Fields | EMF, ELF and RF |
|---|---|
| RF range | To 10 GHz, including 5G |
| Spectrum analyzer | Built in, to 2.5 GHz |
| Data logger | Yes, with GQ RF Browser for real-time monitoring |
| Source identification | Suggests likely sources: power line, cell tower, microwave, static |
| Safety guidance | On-screen suggestion based on the current reading |
| Magnetic axis count | Not published in the listing |
| Calibration | Not stated |
What works
- Logs over time, so a heater cycling on and off shows up as a curve not a guess
- Tries to name the likely source of what it is reading
- Spectrum analyzer is genuinely unusual at this price
What doesn't
- Does not state whether its magnetic sensor is single or triple axis
- No calibration certificate
- The built-in safety suggestions are the manufacturer's thresholds, not a standard
Skip it ifyou want one defensible number. Without a published axis count, your mG reading depends on how you held the meter.
KAIWEETS 3-in-1 Handheld EMF Meter with Trend Graph
KAIWEETS
$49.99 · 20% off
#ad Price as of October 7, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
The only budget meter here that publishes its ranges and says the sensor is three axis. The listing also admits it is not lab-grade, which is the most useful sentence in it.
| Magnetic field | 0.01-200 microtesla / 0.1-2000 mG |
|---|---|
| Electric field | 1-2000 V/m |
| RF | 0.001-200 mW/m2 |
| Sensor | 3-axis, stated to work in any direction |
| Display | Trend graph, all three readings at once, peak capture |
| Alerts | Backlight and audible alarm on threshold |
| Power | Rechargeable |
| Stated caveat | Not lab-grade equipment, per the listing |
What works
- Publishes all three ranges and states a 3-axis sensor
- The trend graph shows a heater cycling without needing a data log
- The listing states its own limits instead of overclaiming
What doesn't
- No frequency response published for the magnetic sensor
- No calibration certificate
- Threshold alarms use the manufacturer's idea of safe, not a standard
Skip it ifyou need a figure you can defend to a third party. For that, buy the meter that ships with a calibration certificate.
ERICKHILL 3-in-1 Rechargeable EMF Meter
ERICKHILL
$79.99 · 20% off
#ad Price as of October 7, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
Three fields, rechargeable, with average, peak and maximum capture on a backlit screen. Enough to compare one spot in a cabin against another, which is most of what a buyer actually wants.
| Fields | Electric field, magnetic field and RF |
|---|---|
| RF range | To 10 GHz, including 5G |
| Readings | Average, peak and maximum, with data hold |
| Display | Backlit LCD, two-color modes |
| Alerts | Sound and light warnings on threshold |
| Power | Rechargeable, charging cable included |
| Auto power off | After 15 minutes idle |
| Measurement ranges | Not published in the listing |
What works
- Captures maximum as well as instantaneous, which is what you want next to a heater
- Rechargeable rather than eating 9 V batteries
- Cheap enough to justify for a single purchase decision
What doesn't
- Publishes no measurement ranges at all
- No stated frequency response, so mG readings are not comparable to a brand's figures
- Marketed partly for paranormal use, which tells you about the intended buyer
Skip it ifyou want to check a sauna brand's published mG figure. Without a stated frequency response and range, your number is not the same measurement.
How to take a reading you can actually compare
- 1Decide the distance and write it down. Brands quote figures at the bench, at the backrest, or at a stated number of inches from a panel. Without a distance there is nothing to compare.
- 2Use a three-axis meter, or accept the error. A single-axis sensor reads only the component aligned with it, so the same field gives different numbers depending on how you hold the meter. Three of these are three-axis; two do not say.
- 3Measure with the heater at full draw, not at set point. A cabin that has reached temperature is cycling, and a reading taken during an off phase is meaningless. This is the argument for the meter with a logger.
- 4Turn off everything else on the circuit. A sauna sharing a run with a freezer is reading both.
- 5Take the same reading twice on different days. If the two disagree, your method is the variable, not the sauna.
What a meter will not settle
A number is not a risk assessment. There is no agreed exposure limit for ELF magnetic fields at sauna distances and durations, which is exactly why "low EMF" has become a marketing term rather than a specification — a point we make at length on what is low EMF?. A meter lets you confirm whether a brand's published figure is roughly reproducible in your cabin. It does not tell you whether the figure matters. Anyone selling you a meter on the second premise is selling you more than the instrument does.
Where this fits in a sauna fit-out
This is a one-purchase instrument for most people: you check the cabin, you check the circuit, and then it lives in a drawer. If that is the plan, the dedicated gaussmeter is the honest buy and the three-in-one meters are the better value — they at least go on to find the wiring fault behind the bed. For the rest of the cabin's measurement kit, our best sauna thermometers page covers temperature and humidity, and best low EMF infrared saunas covers which cabins publish a figure before you need a meter to check it.
Questions people actually ask
What EMF meter do sauna companies use?
What is a good EMF reading in a sauna?
Do I need a three-axis EMF meter?
Does an EMF meter need calibration for sauna testing?
Can one meter check the sauna and the rest of the house?
Sources
- Amazon — TriField TF2 EMF meter, AlphaLab — checked Oct 7, 2026
- Amazon — TENMARS TM-192 3-axis ELF magnetic field meter, 30-2000 Hz — checked Oct 7, 2026
- Amazon — LATNEX AF-5000 EMF meter with calibration certificate — checked Oct 7, 2026
- Amazon — GQ EMF-390 multi-field meter with data logger — checked Oct 7, 2026
- Amazon — KAIWEETS 3-in-1 handheld EMF meter — checked Oct 7, 2026
- Amazon — ERICKHILL 3-in-1 rechargeable EMF meter — checked Oct 7, 2026
Read next
- What is low EMF?Why the term has no standard.Read it
- Low EMF sauna comparisonWho publishes a figure.Read it
- Best low EMF infrared saunasThe cabins, ranked.Read it
- Best sauna thermometersThe other cabin instrument.Read it
- Outdoor sauna electrical guideThe circuit behind the reading.Read it
- Best sauna accessoriesThe rest of the fit-out.Read it
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.