Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Comparison · Red Light & Recovery

Panel vs in-sauna red light

Convenience against control. A built-in tube is at whatever distance the cabin puts it; a panel is at whatever distance you choose — and distance is what determines dose.

By Sawyer V.Last updated Published
Detail of a sauna interior with warm light

The short verdict: a built-in tube is more convenient and a panel gives you more control over the one variable that determines dose. If you will only actually use the thing that is already there, take the built-in. If you want to influence how much light you get, take the panel.

The two approaches
In-sauna tubesStandalone panel
Distance from your bodyFixed by the cabinWhatever you choose
Dose controlNoneVia distance and time
Use without a sauna sessionNoYes
Extra space requiredNoneWall or floor space
UpgradableNoYes — replace or add
Published irradianceNoNo
ConvenienceHighestOne more device to set up
Typical costBundled into a pricier cabinSeparate purchase, often cheaper overall

Why distance is the whole argument

Photobiomodulation dose is irradiance multiplied by time, and irradiance falls off with distance from the emitter. That is not controversial — it is basic physics of light from a source.

So a tube two feet away in a cabin wall and a panel six inches away are delivering meaningfully different amounts to your skin per minute. With a panel you can close that gap. With a tube you cannot: you can lean towards it, which is not a protocol.

The case for the built-in

Convenience is not a trivial argument and we are not going to dismiss it. The equipment people actually use is the equipment that requires no additional decision. If red light is in the cabin you already run three times a week, you will get it three times a week.

A panel that lives in a cupboard because setting it up is one more step is a panel delivering zero dose regardless of its irradiance. That is a real failure mode and it is more common than any specification problem.

There is a second point in the built-in's favor: cabins with red light tend to be better-specified overall. Foot heating, published interior dimensions, better element layout. Some of what you are paying for is a better cabin, not the tubes.

The case for the panel

  • Distance control, which is the dose variable.
  • Independent use. You can do five minutes of red light without a 45-minute sauna warm-up and a lot of heat you did not want.
  • Targeting. A panel can be pointed at a knee or a shoulder. A cabin wall cannot.
  • Cheaper overall, usually. A far-infrared cabin plus a panel typically costs less than a full-spectrum cabin — and avoids the 220 V circuit that full spectrum usually needs.
  • Upgradable. Panels can be replaced, added to, or ganged if they are modular. Built-in tubes are what the cabin came with, forever.

Using a panel with a sauna

The obvious question is whether you can put the panel in the cabin. Our answer is that we would not, and the reason is specification rather than superstition: most panels are not specified for sustained operation at sauna temperatures, and manufacturers rarely publish an operating temperature range at all.

Using the panel before or after the session, outside the cabin, gets you both without operating equipment outside its stated conditions. It costs you a few minutes and it removes the question entirely. If you want it inside the cabin, ask the manufacturer for an operating temperature range first and take their answer seriously.

If you already own a cabin

Then the decision is made: a standalone panel is the only sensible route, because retrofitting tubes into a cabin's own wiring is not realistically available. Adding red light to an existing sauna covers what is genuinely achievable — mounting, distance and the temperature caveat.

If you are buying both from scratch

Our reasoning: buy a well-specified far-infrared cabin on a dedicated 20 A circuit, and a standalone panel separately. That combination usually costs less than a full-spectrum cabin, avoids the 220 V electrical work, and gives you dose control the built-in version cannot.

The counter-argument is convenience, and it is a good one. If you know yourself well enough to know you will not set up a second device, buy the full-spectrum cabin and accept the fixed distance. That is a legitimate choice about how you actually behave rather than how you would like to.

Panels, if control is what you want

Top pick · Wavelength coverage

Full-Body Red Light Therapy Panel, 5 Wavelengths, 120 Dual-Chip LEDs

Generic Amazon listing

$539.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Five wavelengths across 120 dual-chip diodes, with a published wattage. Dual chip means every LED emits more than one wavelength, so coverage is even rather than striped.

Published specifications
LEDs120, dual chip
Wavelengths5, per the listing
Power200 W
Board sizeNot published in the listing
StandNot published in the listing
IrradianceNot published at a stated distance

What works

  • A published wattage and LED count
  • Dual-chip diodes, so both main wavelengths come from every LED
  • More wavelengths than the two-wavelength boards at this size

What doesn't

  • No published board dimensions
  • No irradiance figure at any distance
  • Extra wavelengths have a thinner research base than 660 and 850 nm

Skip it ifyou want the largest treated area per dollar. Wavelength count is not coverage.

#2 · One panel that covers a body

Supersred Red Light Therapy Panel, 1,500 W Dual-Chip Board

Supersred

$476.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Dual-chip diodes, so both wavelengths come from every LED rather than alternating across the board. The listing publishes a wattage and the wavelengths and nothing else — no board size, no irradiance.

Published specifications
Power, per the listing1,500 W lamp board
Wavelengths660 nm and 850 nm, dual chip
Board sizeNot published in the listing
LED countNot published in the listing
EMFNot published
IrradianceNot published at a stated distance

What works

  • Dual-chip LEDs, so coverage is even rather than striped
  • A stated wattage, which most panels at this price omit
  • Both research-backed wavelengths in one board

What doesn't

  • No published board dimensions, so coverage cannot be checked before it arrives
  • No irradiance figure at any distance
  • A lamp wattage is not the same as delivered output

Skip it ifyou need to know the treated area before buying. This listing will not tell you how big the board is.

#3 · Face and body from one panel

EXESAS Red Light Therapy Device, 400 W, 80 LED

EXESAS

$179.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 23, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Fewer, higher-output diodes rather than many small ones — a different design philosophy that concentrates output at the cost of even coverage.

Published specifications
Rated power400 W (LED rating)
LEDs80, dual chip
Wavelengths660 nm and 850 nm
UseFull body and face
IrradianceNot published at a stated distance
Wall drawNot published

What works

  • 5 W per diode is genuinely high output per LED
  • Both wavelengths in each diode
  • Sized for face work as well as body

What doesn't

  • Fewer diodes means more visible hot-spotting at close range
  • Rated wattage is not measured wall draw
  • No irradiance figure

Skip it ifyou want even coverage up close. Fewer, brighter diodes hot-spot; more, dimmer diodes do not.

Questions people actually ask

Is a red light panel better than built-in sauna red light?
For dose control, yes — a panel can sit inches from your skin while a cabin tube is fixed at whatever distance the cabin puts it, and distance determines dose. For convenience, the built-in wins, and convenience decides whether you actually use it. Neither publishes an irradiance figure, so the ratio between them is unknowable.
Can you put a red light panel inside a sauna?
Most panels are not specified for sustained operation at sauna temperatures, and manufacturers rarely publish an operating temperature range — so it is outside stated use unless yours says otherwise. Using the panel before or after the session, outside the cabin, gets you both without the question.
Do sauna red light tubes actually do anything?
They emit red and near-infrared light, so physically yes. What nobody can tell you is the irradiance they deliver at the distance you sit, because no cabin manufacturer publishes it. Without that, the tubes are a feature rather than a measured intervention — which is true of standalone panels too.
Is it cheaper to buy a full spectrum sauna or a cabin plus a panel?
Usually the cabin plus a panel, and it avoids the 220 V circuit that full-spectrum cabins generally need — which is a real install cost on top of the purchase. You also get distance control that no built-in tube offers. The trade is that it is two devices rather than one.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.