Portable steam vs infrared sauna
Both are pop-up tents that plug into a wall. One fills with steam from a generator outside; the other warms you with heated panels in dry air. They feel different, they need different care, and they publish different numbers.

The short version: choose steam if you want wet heat and don't mind water — the steam picks here run 1,200 and 1,600 W steamers, and SAUNABOX quotes 130–140 °F at near 100% humidity. Choose infrared if you want dry heat with nothing to fill, drain or dry — iDOTODO's infrared tent lists 140 °F, and SAUNABOX quotes about 160 °F for its own. Both run from a household outlet and fold away.
Side by side
| Portable steam | Portable infrared | |
|---|---|---|
| Heat source | A steam generator outside the tent, piped in | Heated panels inside the tent |
| Air | Humid — SAUNABOX says near 100% | Dry |
| Temperature, as published | SAUNABOX SmartSteam: 130–140 °F | iDOTODO: 140 °F; SAUNABOX Pulse PRO: about 160 °F |
| Power | 1,200–1,600 W steamers on the picks here | 1,600 W on the Pulse PRO; not stated on the Amazon picks |
| Water | Fill the steamer every session | None |
| After a session | Empty the steamer; let the tent dry | Switch off and air the tent |
From SAUNABOX's product pages and the Amazon listings of the picks below, read on 2026-09-11; buy boxes re-checked on 2026-09-12.
How they feel
Steam heats you through wet air. SAUNABOX says its SmartSteam reaches 130–140 °F at near 100% humidity, and argues that humid air at that temperature feels comparable to a dry sauna running hotter. Infrared works differently — Plunge's infrared page puts it as warming your body more directly rather than heating the air around you — so an infrared tent runs drier. Sauna vs steam room covers the fixed-room version of this choice, and infrared vs traditional the cabin version.
Water is the practical difference
A steam tent means water every session: fill the steamer — SAUNABOX's Amazon listing says distilled water — and wait for steam; SAUNABOX says about 15 minutes, and Lifepro 10 to 20 for its steamer. Afterward, empty it and let the tent dry. Lifepro's steamer holds 2.6 liters for up to 60 minutes of steam and shuts off automatically, per its listing. An infrared tent skips all of that: plug it in, zip it up and wait for the panels. If you plan to use it daily in a small apartment, the drying matters — our apartment page covers the space question.
Power
Both run from an ordinary outlet. SAUNABOX rates its SmartSteam and its Pulse PRO infrared tent at 1,600 W on 110 V, and Lifepro its Revivify steamer at 1,200 W. That is a large load for one household circuit, so don't share it with a space heater or a kettle. A steamer also puts a hose and hot water beside the tent; set it where it cannot be knocked over.
Red light
Both types now come with red light. SAUNABOX's own SmartSteam Pro page includes a 660–850 nm panel, Lifepro's Revivify Deluxe adds 105 LEDs at 660 and 850 nm, iDOTODO's infrared tent has a 660 nm panel, and the Pulse PRO a 320-LED panel. None of the portable listings publishes an irradiance at a stated distance; irradiance explained says why that is the number to ask for.
Which to choose
- Steam, if you like humid heat and don't mind filling the steamer and drying the tent.
- Infrared, if you want dry heat, no water and less to clean after each session.
- A blanket, if even a tent is too much floor space — infrared sauna vs sauna blanket covers that format.
- Neither, if you have room for a cabin — see the best 1-person infrared saunas.
Two steam tents and two infrared tents
SAUNABOX SmartSteam Kit Pro Portable Steam Sauna, 1 Person
SAUNABOX
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
SAUNABOX's pop-up steam tent: a seven-level steamer, a 60-minute timer, an insulated cover on a pop-up frame, and a floor mat and chair in the box.
| Type | Portable steam tent, 1 person |
|---|---|
| Heat | Up to 140 °F in about 15 minutes, per the listing |
| Controls | 7 heat levels; 0–60 min timer |
| Steamer | 1,600 W, 3.6 L, per SAUNABOX's own page |
| Included | Floor mat, chair, phone holder, towel hook |
What works
- Heat levels and timer stated
- Tool-free setup
- The brand publishes a model-by-model warranty policy
What doesn't
- The listing does not mention the red light panel on SAUNABOX's own page
- Distilled water every session
- SAUNABOX's pages give two different warranty figures
Skip it ifyou want dry heat. SAUNABOX's infrared tent, the Pulse PRO, sells direct.
LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna
LifePro
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A compact steam tent with a 1,200 W, 2.6-liter steamer, 15 settings, app control and a storage bag — 13.22 lb as a tent.
| Steamer | 1,200 W, 2.6 L, 15 settings (P01–P15) |
|---|---|
| Timer | 1–60 min |
| Size | 31.5 × 31.5 × 70.87 in |
| Tent | 3 layers — satin, cotton and Oxford — on a 201 stainless steel frame |
| Included | Chair, mat, remote, phone holder, storage bag, 6 essential oil bottles |
What works
- App and remote control
- Packs into a bag
- Steamer shuts off automatically, per Lifepro's steamer listing
What doesn't
- No temperature published
- Smaller than the Deluxe
- Warranty not stated
Skip it ifyou want red light too. The Revivify Deluxe adds a panel.
iDOTODO Portable Far Infrared Sauna with 660 nm Red Light Panel
iDOTODO
#ad We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
An infrared tent with a 660 nm red light panel, a 140 °F top in its title, double-layer walls and a larger chair.
| Heat | Far infrared; 140 °F in the title |
|---|---|
| Red light | 660 nm panel |
| Size | 33.85 × 33.85 × 70.86 in |
| Weight | 19.96 lb |
| Service | One year for non-human damage, per the listing |
What works
- Temperature stated
- Red light panel
- Service term stated
What doesn't
- Heat-up claims in the listing are hard to follow
- No irradiance figure
- Health claims in the listing
Skip it ifyou prefer humid heat. A steam tent is the other route.
AURGOD Portable Infrared Sauna, 1 Person, with Heated Foot Pad
AURGOD
#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.
A one-person tent that heats with three infrared panels rather than steam, with a heated foot pad, a remote and three layers of insulation.
| Heat | 3 infrared heating panels |
|---|---|
| Size set up | 33.8 × 33.8 × 66.5 in |
| Insulation | 3 layers |
| Controls | Remote for time and temperature |
| Included | Tent, frame, remote, foot pad, folding chair |
What works
- No water to fill or drain
- Heated foot pad
- Double-head zipper
What doesn't
- Temperature not stated
- Wattage not stated
- The listing mentions steam pans, which is confusing for an infrared tent
Skip it ifyou want a published maximum temperature. The iDOTODO tent lists 140 °F.
One maker, both types
SAUNABOX sells both kinds, which makes it the cleanest like-for-like comparison: the same 1,600 W and the same 110 V, one wet and one dry. Only the SmartSteam Kit Pro is on Amazon; the Pulse PRO sells direct. Our SAUNABOX review covers both, and the best portable steam saunas the wider steam field.
Questions people actually ask
Is a portable steam sauna or an infrared sauna better?
Which gets hotter, a steam tent or an infrared tent?
Do portable steam saunas need distilled water?
Can you use a portable sauna in an apartment?
Sources
- SAUNABOX — SmartSteam Pro product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- SAUNABOX — Pulse PRO product page — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — SAUNABOX SmartSteam Kit Pro listing — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — Lifepro Revivify steamer listing — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Amazon.com — portable infrared sauna listings, specifications as published by the sellers — checked Sep 11, 2026
- Plunge — The Infrared Sauna product page, infrared explained — checked Sep 11, 2026
Read next
Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.