Skip to content
Stove & Snow
Model notes · Cold Plunge

Orca cold plunge review

Orca sells drop-stitch tubs bundled with its own chillers out of San Diego, and publishes interior dimensions and user height limits that most of this category leaves off. What it does not publish is any BTU figure, which is the number that would let you check the chiller against the tub.

By Sawyer V.Last updated
Ice bath tub filled with cold water and floating ice outdoors

The short version: Orca builds four inflatable drop-stitch tubs — the horizontal Migaloo and Mammoth, the upright Ice Pod, and the taller Ice Barrel — and sells each one either bare or bundled with its own 3/4 HP or 1 HP chiller. The chiller specifications are unusually complete for this category: temperature floors, amperage, pump flow, ozone output, a noise figure and an ingress rating. The tub specifications include interior dimensions and user height limits, which is more than most inflatables publish. The gaps are BTU ratings, cooling rates and any insulation figure beyond the air in the walls.

The tubs, as Orca publishes them

Orca Plunge tubs, from the brand's product pages
MigalooMammothIce PodIce Barrel
ShapeHorizontalHorizontalUprightUpright, taller
Capacity85 gal110 gal80 gal105 gal
Outside59 × 30 × 30 in75 × 28 × 28 in37.5 in wide × 30 in high37.5 in wide × 42 in high
InsideNot publishedNot published33.5 in wide × 30 in high31 in wide × 42 in high
Empty / full weight25 lb / 725 lb28 lb / 950 lb23 lb / 690 lb28 lb / 875 lb
Stated user limitNot publishedNot publishedUp to 6 ft 8 inUp to 7 ft, one person
Maximum pressure10 PSI10 PSI10 PSI10 PSI
In the boxTub, lockable inflatable cover, air pump, repair kitTub, cover, duffle bag, air pump, repair kitTub, cover, air pump, repair kitTub, cover, stairs, air pump, repair kit

From orcaplunge.com product pages, read on 2026-09-23. Bundles pair each tub with Orca's 3/4 HP or 1 HP chiller; tubs are also sold bare.

Publishing an interior width and a height limit is the useful part. A 37.5-inch upright tub has 33.5 inches inside it, and the difference is the wall — which is exactly the figure that decides whether a broad-shouldered adult fits. Our best cold plunge tubs for tall users page is built on that same distinction, and best upright cold plunges covers the format.

The chillers

Orca chillers, from the brand's product pages
3/4 HP1 HP
Temperature range37 °F cooling to 104 °F heating32 °F cooling to 104 °F heating
Power110 V, 7.6 A cooling / 7.9 A heating110 V, 7.9 A cooling / about 9.0 A heating
Size and weight20 × 18 × 19 in, 75 lb22.5 × 17 × 18.75 in, 80 lb
Noise52 dBA52 dBA
CompressorPanasonicPanasonic
Pump600 GPH built in600 GPH built in
SanitationOzone, 5 W / 50 mg per hourOzone, 5 W / 50 mg per hour
FiltrationOptional, 20 or 50 micronOptional, 20 or 50 micron
Cord and rating10 ft GFCI, IPX410 ft GFCI, IPX4
Warranty1 year limited1 year limited

From orcaplunge.com chiller pages, read on 2026-09-23. The 1 HP chiller's own page states a 32 °F floor; the Mammoth bundle page states 34 °F for the same unit.

A 52 dBA figure and an IPX4 rating are both more than most of this category publishes, and both matter: 52 dBA is roughly a quiet conversation, and IPX4 means splashing water rather than immersion, so the unit still wants a dry, ventilated spot. What is missing is the BTU rating, and with it the ability to check the chiller against the tub. A 1 HP unit on a 110-gallon uninsulated-walled tub outdoors in August is a different proposition from the same unit on 85 gallons in a garage; without BTU or a published pull-down rate, that is a conversation to have with Orca rather than a calculation you can run. The method is in our chiller sizing guide, and drop-in versus external chillers covers the plumbing choice.

Filtration is an option, not a feature

Orca's chillers include ozone, and filtration is sold as an add-on in 20 or 50 micron, with 50 micron recommended for home use. Maintenance guidance on the brand's welcome page is specific — change the sediment filter every two weeks, keep pH between 7.2 and 7.8, use an oxidizer and sanitizer — which is realistic advice, and it makes the filtration line item feel less optional than the shop page implies. Our cold plunge filtration guide covers what each stage actually removes, and best cold plunge water treatments covers the chemistry.

Warranty and returns

  • One year limited, stated in the specification block of every chiller and bundle page. A dedicated warranty page returns an error, so the full covered-and-excluded text is not published, and tub-only terms are not stated separately.
  • Returns within 30 days of purchase, unused and in the original packaging, with a 15 percent restocking fee after shipment.
  • Sale purchases are not returnable at all, per the refund policy — worth knowing, because this brand discounts often.
  • Cancellation before shipment carries a 3–6 percent merchant fee.
  • Who pays return freight is not stated, and refunds are issued minus shipping.

What is not published

  • BTU ratings and cooling rates for either chiller.
  • Any insulation figure beyond the air-filled drop-stitch walls — no R-value, no foam thickness.
  • Interior dimensions for the two horizontal tubs.
  • Separate tub warranty terms, and the full warranty text for anything.
  • A consistent temperature floor for the 1 HP chiller, which appears as both 32 °F and 34 °F.

Who this is for

Orca suits someone who wants a soft-sided tub that can be moved or stored, bundled with a chiller from the same vendor so there is one number to call. The published interior dimensions and height limits make it easy to check fit before buying, which is the single most common regret in this category. What would give us pause is the one-year limited warranty with no published text, the no-returns-on-sale-items clause, and the absence of a BTU figure on a chiller that is being matched to your tub by the seller rather than by you.

Drop-stitch tubs and chillers on Amazon

Top pick · A firm upright barrel

Healcryo 201-Gallon Upright Inflatable Ice Bath Barrel with Steps

Healcryo

$149.95 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Drop-stitch walls at 8 PSI make this far firmer than an ordinary inflatable barrel, and it ships with steps — the part of an upright plunge people forget.

Published specifications
Capacity201 gallons (636 L)
Inflated size39.4" × 31.5" × 37.4"
Walls7-layer insulation, 8 PSI drop-stitch
IncludedSteps

What works

  • Much firmer walls than standard inflatables
  • Steps included for entry
  • Heavy insulation

What doesn't

  • 201 gallons is a lot for an upright barrel to chill
  • Newly listed, so little history
  • Seated depth depends on your torso length

Skip it ifyou are icing rather than chilling. This much water takes a lot of ice.

#2 · Reclining in an inflatable

BEYOND MARINA Slanted-Edge Inflatable Cold Plunge Tub, 155 Gallon

BEYOND MARINA

$399.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

A drop-stitch tub with a slanted back, so you sit with your legs out rather than crouched — rated for users up to 6 ft 7 in.

Published specifications
Size61 × 31.5 × 24.8 in
Capacity155 gallons (586 L)
ConstructionDouble-layer drop stitch
FitUp to 6 ft 7 in and 300 lb, per the listing
ChillerReady — 1/2 in NPT ports
IncludedHigh-pressure pump, ground sheet, child safety lock

What works

  • A slanted back for a reclined position
  • Height limit published
  • Chiller ports

What doesn't

  • No chiller included
  • The listing's health claims are the seller's own
  • Inflatable — a shorter life than a rigid tub

Skip it ifyou want everything in one box. You will need to add a chiller or ice.

#3 · A complete kit with GFCI plug

JUGRFIT 121-Gallon Cold Plunge Tub with 1,050 W Chiller

JUGRFIT

$1,499.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

Everything in one box, down to a GFCI-protected plug, with drop-stitch walls far firmer than an ordinary inflatable.

Published specifications
Tub121 gallons, drop-stitch
Dimensions53" × 32" × 24"
Chiller1,050 W cooling, to 37 °F
Weather ratingChiller IPX4
IncludedLid, chiller with filter and pump, hoses, valves, GFCI plug

What works

  • GFCI plug included
  • Firm drop-stitch walls
  • Outdoor-rated chiller

What doesn't

  • Still an inflatable — seams wear
  • Hoses are connections that can leak
  • The seller's running-cost estimate is its own, not verified by us

Skip it ifthe plunge is a permanent installation. A rigid tub will outlast it.

#4 · Large tubs and hot climates

1 HP Cold Plunge Chiller with Ozone Filtration, Heat and Cool

Generic Amazon listing

$899.00 · View on Amazon

$1,299.99 · 31% off

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

10,000 BTU is the number to look for if your tub lives outside in a hot climate — the smaller units simply cannot outrun a 95 °F afternoon.

Published specifications
Cooling capacity1 HP / 10,000 BTU
Temperature range37 °F to 107.6 °F
SanitationOzone filtration system
ControlWi-Fi with schedule timer
ModesHeat and cool
VoltageNot published in the listing
Power drawNot published

What works

  • Published in BTU as well as HP, which is the genuinely comparable unit
  • Heats as well as cools — contrast therapy from one box
  • Ozone sanitation integrated rather than bolted on

What doesn't

  • 1 HP draws real power, and without a published wattage you cannot cost it
  • Voltage not published — check before ordering
  • Heat mode to 107 °F is a hot tub you probably do not want

Skip it ifyour tub is under 100 gallons and lives indoors. You would be paying for capacity you cannot use, on a compressor that will short-cycle.

#5 · The overall chiller pick

AS ColdPlunge 1/3 HP Chiller, Built-In Filter and Pump

AS ColdPlunge

$399.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of Sep 27, 2026. We earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. How this is funded.

The integrated pump and filter is the reason to pick this one: an external-pump chiller needs three more purchases and four more hose connections to reach the same place.

Published specifications
Cooling capacity1/3 HP
Minimum temperature42 °F
PumpBuilt in, submersible
FiltrationBuilt in
HosesInsulated, included
Duty cycleRated for 24/7 operation
FitsCold plunge tubs and bathtubs
Pull-down timeNot published

What works

  • Pump and filter integrated — one box, one plug, no shopping list
  • A 42 °F floor is cold enough for any protocol worth running
  • Insulated hoses included rather than sold as an upgrade

What doesn't

  • 1/3 HP is slow to pull a large tub down from ambient
  • The 42 °F floor is warmer than the 37–39 °F the 1 HP units claim
  • No published pull-down time, so sizing is arithmetic you do yourself

Skip it ifyour tub is over roughly 100 gallons or lives outdoors in a hot climate. At 1/3 HP you will be waiting overnight for a pull-down a 1/2 HP does in an afternoon.

Again, not Orca units and not claimed as equivalents — these are the Amazon listings in the same formats, upright and horizontal drop-stitch tubs and standalone chillers, each with its own published specifications.

Questions people actually ask

Is Orca Plunge sold on Amazon?
We found no Orca Plunge listing on Amazon on 2026-09-23; Amazon returned service errors on every direct check that day and the only Orca-branded results we could see were unrelated goods such as coolers. Orca sells direct from its own store and a San Diego showroom.
How cold does an Orca chiller get?
Orca publishes a 37 °F floor for the 3/4 HP chiller and a 32 °F floor for the 1 HP on their own product pages, both with heating to 104 °F. Note that the Mammoth bundle page states 34 °F for the same 1 HP unit, so confirm which figure applies to the configuration you are buying.
Are Orca tubs insulated?
They are drop-stitch inflatables, so the insulation is the air in the walls. Orca does not publish an R-value or a foam layer for any tub. That is normal for the format and it is why a chiller and an insulated cover do more work here than on a rigid, foam-filled shell.
Does an Orca bundle include filtration?
Not as standard. Ozone is built into the chillers; particle filtration at 20 or 50 micron is sold as an add-on, with 50 micron recommended for home use. The brand's own maintenance guidance assumes you are running one and changing it every two weeks.
What is Orca's return policy?
Thirty days from purchase, unused and in original packaging, with a 15 percent restocking fee once an item has shipped. Items bought on sale are not eligible for return, and refunds are issued minus shipping.

Sources

Every pick on this page comes from published specifications, not from hardware we own. Read how we pick — including what spec-led ranking cannot tell you.